Library Liaison
LGBTQ Encyclopedias
-
Boy Culture: an EncyclopediaWhat does it really mean to be a boy today? With more boy-targeted music, television, and movies than ever, a growing national diversity, challenging family dynamics, and a variety of good and bad role models, being a North American boy is a vastly different experience than it was just a few decades ago. Interdisciplinary with a focus on queer and trans issues, world cultures, fashion, disability/ability, literature and music. Excellent bibliographies attached to the articles.
-
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements2015 ed. This encyclopedia examines every significant social movement in American history through the early twenty-first century.
-
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States2009 ed. Contains hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts.
-
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society2009 ed. Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
-
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media2012 ed. Examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
-
Encyclopedia of Identity2010 ed. Offering a broad, comprehensive overview of the definitions, politics, manifestations, concepts, and ideas related to identity, the entries include short biographies of major thinkers and leaders, as well as discussions of events, personalities, and concepts. The Encyclopedia of Identity is designed for readers to grasp the nature and breadth of identity as a psychological, social, anthropological, and popular idea.
-
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures2000 edition of the print series of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures.
-
Gay and Lesbian Rights2009 ed. Provides readers with the background and resources needed to understand these civil rights issues.
-
Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide2009. Detailed articles present a general overview along with an in depth look at issues such as Education, Employment, Economics, Social/Government Programs, Sexuality, Family, Community, Health, Politics, Law, Religion, and Violence.
-
LGBT Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America2004 ed. Provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same sex institutions, and AIDS.
-
Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies2016. This encyclopedia focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development, and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist, and ecological perspectives on the topic.
-
Same-Sex Marriage: A Reference HandbookProvides a comprehensive review of attitudes toward same-sex marriage in the United States, examining historical events, religious traditions, and gender norms that have influenced understandings of same-sex marriage in America. Information regarding same-sex relationships in other cultures, both today and in previous eras, provides insightful perspective to the topic; arguments for and against same-sex marriages are presented along with rebuttals to both positions. Of special interest is the Doucments and Data section, with full text of legislation and relevant state and world-wide statistics.
-
West's Encyclopedia of American Law2004 ed. (2nd ed) Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.
-
Wiley Blackwell encyclopedia of gender and sexuality studiesInvaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist authors and activists, women’s non-governmental organizations, and key texts, events and legislation that have either enhanced or curtailed women’s rights.
-
Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. This web version of the Encyclopedia Britannica includes links to websites, a subject guide to the Internet, and special features.
Terms of use
-
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality byPublication Date: 2010This comprehensive scholarly reference work provides authoritative coverage of the full range of topics in the study of human sexual behavior throughout the world. The Encyclopedia brings together an international team of 200 leading scholars to provide a complete view of the field. Entries represent the highest quality of scholarship, but are written in a manner accessible to student and non-specialist readers and include full bibliographies to aid further research. A range of topics is explored including gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies.
-
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements
by
ISBN: 0810872269Publication Date: 2013-09-19Not so long ago hardly anything was said of the Lesbian Liberation Movement and the Gay Liberation Movement, indeed, the terms gay and lesbian were not even used if some other expression could be found. Today, by contrast, hardly a day passes when something important does not occur, and is carried by the major media and disseminated on more personal levels through blogs and the social media.
