Library Liaison
Geography Encyclopedias and Reference Materials
- 21st Century Geography: a reference handbook2012 ed. Extensive sections on both Physical and Environmental Geography, and Human Geography
- Encyclopedia of Human Geography2006 ed. Provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s.
- Encyclopedia of Population2003 ed. Encompasses the large-scale changes in population studies during the last 20 years, including such topics as: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and more.
- Encyclopedia of the EarthCoverage: varies. An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
- Geo-data: the world geographical encyclopedia2003 ed. Entries describe the physical geography of every nation on Earth. Physical features, climate, and vegetation are discussed in detail. Also includes physical relief maps for each entry and a World Rankings appendix with dozens of tables ranking major features of the Earth.
- World Population: a reference handbook2006 ed. A current assessment of world population and the range of economic, social, and environmental issues it raises.
- Encyclopedia of Geography byCall Number: Case Ref E-BookPublication Date: 2010Simply stated, geography studies the locations of things and the explanations that underlie spatial distributions. Profound forces at work throughout the world have made geographical knowledge increasingly important for understanding numerous human dilemmas and our capacities to address them.
- Antarctica and the Arctic Circle: A Geographic Encyclopedia of the Earth's Polar Regions byCall Number: Case Ref E-BookPublication Date: 2014This one-stop reference is a perfect resource for anyone interested in the North and South Poles, whether their interest relates to history, wildlife, or the geography of these regions in the news today.
• Introduces natural phenomena and flora and fauna found at the North and South Pole regions
• Discusses current concerns related to climate change and its impact on the polar regions
• Furnishes students with an understanding of territorial claims and political issues surrounding the North and South Poles - Seas and Waterways of the World: An Encyclopedia of History, Uses, and Issues byCall Number: Case Ref E-BookPublication Date: 2010Seas and Waterways of the World: An Encyclopedia of History, Uses, and Issues offers a comprehensive introduction to humanity's historical reliance on the world's seas and waterways and how that reliance continues to evolve. The encyclopedia marks the emergence of the aquarium, cruise, energy, fishing, insurance, mining, trade, transportation, recreation, and sport industries, and includes entries on harbors, ports, and coastal development that play a part in the economics of commercial water use.
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change byCall Number: Case Ref E-BookPublication Date: 2008The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by Call Number: Case Ref E-BookISBN: 9780198540397Publication Date: 2001-06-07This reference work, offers coverage of the earth sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy and oceanography, are covered
