2004 ed. Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.

Coverage: current. the online version of the Europa World Year Book, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

2004 ed. Looks at Islam's role in the modern world in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.

2008 ed. A comprehensive general reference encompassing all aspects of the contentious Arab-Israeli relationship from biblical times to the present, with an emphasis on the era beginning with World War I.

2010 ed. This in-depth, comprehensive study of U.S. involvement in the modern Middle East carefully weighs the interplay of domestic, cultural, religious, diplomatic, international, and military events in one of the world's most troubled regions.

2009 ed. Discusses the effect of violence in gender relations in Middle Eastern societies.

2009 ed. This work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq are elucidated here by distinguished scholars. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world.

2009 ed. Provides broad coverage of countries that are little known in the United States and even less written about in English.

2006 ed. Offers coverage of ancient and modern cities in the Middle East and North Africa from their founding to the present highlighting each city`s cultural, social, political, and economic significance.

2001 ed. Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.

2006 ed. A multivolume encyclopedia documenting the history of one of the most influential religious movements of the Middle Ages -- the Crusades.

2005 ed. Covers the history of the conflict as well as five Arab-Israeli wars, and provides biographies of political personnel in Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan and the occupied territories.

1996 ed. Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. It is the one of the primary resources for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on most cultures. Additional cultures are covered in the supplement (which is a separate resource)

2005 ed. Documents the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.

2006 ed. A comprehensive study of the history, politics, religion, economy, and culture of Pakistan.

2004 ed. Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, and where Arab nationalism has failed.

1993 ed. Covering 30,000 years of goddess worship, this is a comprehensive biographical dictionary devoted to mythological deities.

2002 ed. Presents articles on food and its place in human culture and society, including entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.

2005 ed. A general introduction to Mesopotamia that covers all four of the area\'s major ancient civilizations—Sumer, Akkad, Assyria, and Babylonia.