Offers a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced with other useful points of interest within the encyclopedia. In addition to A-to-Z entries, the Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices.
2010 ed. Presents detailed descriptions and analyses of some 200 major post–World War II conflicts around the globe, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe—along with 12 thematic essays, biographical profiles, profiles of major international organizations, and a glossary. Text coverage is supported by nearly 200 maps and 100 photos.
2010 ed. Organized by major themes and issues, the work examines every facet of human striving for peace, from the global to the personal. The first volume, History and Vitality of Peace Movements, explores the meaning of peace—its historical, philosophical, and biological foundations and related spiritual, gender, social, and economic viewpoints. The second volume, Players and Practices in Resistance to War, discusses control over weapons, efforts to prevent and end violent conflict, and efforts to heal the traumatic aftereffects of violence. The third volume, Peace Efforts That Work and Why, looks at how mankind can build a new world order by building communities with a sustainable culture of peace.
2009 ed. Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
2008 ed. A comprehensive general reference encompassing all aspects of the contentious Arab-Israeli relationship from biblical times to the present, with an emphasis on the era beginning with World War I.
2005 ed. Explains the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large, tracing the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiling perpetrators and heroes, and explaining international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.
2008 ed. Examines the conflict between India and Pakistan from Independence to the present day, with an authoritative treatment that presents the issues even-handedly and from both countries`perspectives.
Here is an encyclopedia of maritime history that, in scope and depth, rivals the expansiveness of the sea itself. The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to Viking sea-raiders, from Nelson and the Napoleonic Wars to the voyages of Cheng Ho, from the European conquerors of the New World to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Placing maritime affairs in their larger historical context, the Encyclopedia shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history.
Six years after publication of the first edition of the best-selling Encyclopedia of Terrorism, much has changed on the national security scene. Despite the dark promises of Osama bin Laden following the 9/11 attacks, the United States has not experienced any major domestic terror incidents. Al-Qaeda itself is believed to be a severely crippled organization.
This reference offers the most complete and authoritative resource on one of the most critical issues in the world today. Articles cover the broad sweep of political violence throughout history; groups, causes, and incidents in countries and regions across the globe; underlying issues of definition and viewpoint; the tactics, methods, and aim of modern terrorists; and approaches to counter-terrorism.
Although now a growing and respectable research field, crisis management―as a formal area of study―is relatively young, having emerged since the 1980s following a succession of such calamities as the Bhopal gas leak, Chernobyl nuclear accident, Space Shuttle Challenger loss, and Exxon Valdez oil spill. Analysis of organizational failures that caused such events helped drive the emerging field of crisis management.
This reference work is an ideal resource for anyone interested in better understanding the controversial Iraq War. It treats the war in its entirety, covering politics, religion, and history, as well as military issues.
The first accessible reference to cover the history, context, current issues, and key concepts surrounding biological, chemical, and nuclear weapons. Over 500 A-Z entries written by 95 international experts, organized in two volumes divided by types of weapons. Timeline that covers leading political, military, and weapons-specific events since 1945. Excerpts from key international documents.
This resource provides a complete overview of cyber warfare, which has been used with increasing frequency in recent years by such countries as China, Iran, Israel, North Korea, Russia, and the United States. Readers will gain an understanding of the origins and development of cyber warfare and of how it has become a major strategic element in warfare for countries throughout the world.
Maritime history has, in some respects, been an ignored dimension of global history. Indeed, we have become so used to thinking of our world as “earth” and as a “terrestrial orb” that we sometimes have completely forgotten that those words refer only to land and that they exclude the essence of things maritime. Maritime history is the field of historical study that encompasses humankind’s relationships to the seas and oceans of the world.