A quick reference guide to national flags

If like many Americans you're curious about your roots, this Companion is the perfect guide to investigating family history in the British Isles. Edited by David Hey, a leading authority, the book provides helpful information for anyone enquiring into their English, Irish, Scottish, or Welsh origins and for anyone working in genealogical research or on the social history of the British Isles. This fully revised and updated edition has been newly structured for ease of use, with an informative thematic essay section followed by an A-Z dictionary with more than 2,000 jargon-free entries, as well as detailed appendices which include further reading and up-to-date recommended websites. New essays for this edition are: "A Guide for Beginners," "Links between British and American Families," "Black and Asian Family History," and an extended article on "Names." With research tips, a full background to the social history of communities and individuals, and a special updated appendix listing all national and local record offices with their contact details, this is an essential reference work for anyone interested in uncovering and understanding the past.

Thoroughly revised to include 25 conflicts not covered in the previous edition, as well as expanded and updated information on previous coverage, this illustrated reference presents descriptions and analyses of more than 170 significant post-World War II conflicts around the globe. Organized by region for ease of access, "Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II, Second Edition" provides clear, in-depth explanations of events not covered in such detail in any other reference source. Including more than 180 detailed maps and 150 photos, the set highlights the conflicts that dominate today's headlines and the events that changed the course of late twentieth-century history.

The Oxford Companion to the Book is the first reference work of its kind covering the broad concept of the book throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Along with such subjects as bibliography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, and textual criticism, it also engages with newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book. Additionally, the companion provides an engaging analysis of how books and societies have shaped one another. Written by the world's top scholars in bibliography and book history, the companion is an authoritative and highly informative work of reference for an international readership across a vast range of disciplines.

The "Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History" is the first true encyclopedic reference on world history. It is designed to meet the needs of students, teachers, and scholars who seek to explore and understand the panorama of our shared human history. The encyclopedia takes a dynamic world history perspective, showing connections, interactions, and chage over time and place. Major articles by leading scholars from around the world examine essential themes and patterns such as Art, Disease, Government, Religion, Science, and War and Peace, with hundreds of articles on processes, movements, places, events, and people. Students and teachers at the high school and college levels turn to this definitive work for a connected view of world history--the story of humans and their place in the universe.

The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological, and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.

Most people think of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) as a distinctly British product. Begun in England 150 years ago, it took more than 60 years to complete and, when it was finally finished in 1928, the British prime minister heralded it as a 'national treasure'. It maintained this image throughout the twentieth century, and in 2006 the English public voted it an 'Icon of England', alongside Marmite, Buckingham Palace and the bowler hat. However, this book shows that the dictionary is not as 'British' as we all thought. The linguist and lexicographer, Sarah Ogilvie, combines her insider knowledge and experience with impeccable research to show that the OED is in fact an international product in both its content and its making. She examines the policies and practices of the various editors, applies qualitative and quantitative analysis, and finds new OED archival materials in the form of letters, reports and proofs. She demonstrates that the OED, in its use of readers from all over the world and its coverage of World English, is in fact a global text

This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media now covers nearly 200 countries. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries begin with an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each countrys press. Entries then cover the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism and much more. This edition offers articles on 20 new countries and a focus on new media, including cable and Internet.

Nearly every belief system in every part of the world has its own distinctive answers to how the world was created, often taking the form of a story or myth. These narratives offer insight into a culture's values, its world view, and its interpretations of the relationship between the individual, society, and the divine

The Akkadian Semite king Sargon (Akkadian Sharrum-kin, “True King”) united and ruled the lands of Sumer and Akkad in Mesopotamia between c. 2335 and 2279 b.c.e. Like many of the early Mesopotamian kings, he became the source of myths and legends. Sargon was said to have been born of a virgin, hidden in a basket, released into a river, and adopted, some say by a palm grower. This sequence of events ties him to other monomythic hero stories, including those of Moses and Siegfried. Later Sargon gained the support of the goddess Ishtar (Inanna) and rose to kingship.

Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and much more

This timely and authoritative set explores three centuries of good times and hard times in major economies throughout the world. More than 400 signed articles cover events from Tulipmania during the 1630s to the U.S. federal stimulus package of 2009, and introduce readers to underlying concepts, recurring themes, major institutions, and notable figures. Written in a clear, accessible style, "Booms and Busts" provides vital insight and perspective for students, teachers, librarians, and the general public - anyone interested in understanding the historical precedents, causes, and effects of the global economic crisis. Special features include a chronology of major booms and busts through history, a glossary of economic terms, a guide to further research, an appendix of primary documents, a topic finder, and a comprehensive index.

Along with chemistry, physics and biology, the major scientific disciplines are represented in this alphabetically arranged work. Over 90 biographies give the stories behind the great achievements of Margaret Mead, Niels Bohr, Albert Einstein and many more

The Oxford Companion to the Book is the first reference work of its kind covering the broad concept of the book throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Along with such subjects as bibliography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, and textual criticism, it also engages with newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book.

This detailed set explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. The sets 1, 082 articles, written by eminent scholars, cover major topics in art, government and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. In addition, the set covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish inquisition, Utopia and others. Each volume includes an eight-page color insert. Features include approximately 575 black-and-white photographs, 60 maps, a year-by-year chronology, a topical outline, and a comprehensive index.

This definitive reference work covers the complete transformation of American, Canadian, and British societies during the two world wars, including all aspects of working, recreational, and cultural life during wartime.
• Nearly 700 alphabetically organized entries on all aspects of life on the home front during the world wars, including biographies and accounts of cities and regions, cultural phenomena (movies, music, and literature), ethnic groups, key events (elections, strikes, mobilization efforts), government agencies, and private institutions
• More than 100 expert contributors from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, including specialists in politics, economics, sociology, and popular culture

The time period between the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War I is one of the most studied periods in history. The heavily researched era is singled out in this exciting new five-volume set covering the important people and the major events and developments in Europe. Broad in scope, the contributions of about 600 scholars across the globe are conveniently collected in a single encyclopedia that encompasses all areas of human endeavor. With a thoughtful index and accessible prose, readers can easily gather specific information or leisurely explore the periods scientific, social and cultural history as well as its political, military and economic developments. The collection of 868 articles illustrates the impact of the French Revolution and Napoleonic era on Europe, and the transformation of its political, social, and cultural institutions by the forces of industrialization, nationalism, mass politics, imperialism, great power rivalries and innovative cultural change. Each article includes a bibliography, some annotated. Enlivening the material are sidebars that clarify concepts and provide excerpts from primary source documents. Each volume also includes an 8-page color insert and numerous illustrations. A chronology and a thematic outline of the contents concisely frames the material in a larger context, helping readers build meaningful connections.

Europe Since 1914 details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Includes over 900 articles and many illustrations. Written by about 500 leading experts from universities all over the world, the set includes scientific and economic, social and cultural, political and military developments.

This comprehensive survey of ethnic groups of Europe reveals the dynamic process of ethnic identity and the relationship of ethnic groups to modern states.
• Includes an introduction describing the concept and practice of ethnicity in Europe, past and present
• Contains contributions from 80 distinguished international scholars, including some of the foremost experts on particular groups

"A companion to be cherished," "judicious and authoritative," "informative and entertaining," "an invaluable work of reference"--these are just some of the phrases used by reviewers to describe the Oxford Companion to Irish History.
With over 1,800 entries, this acclaimed Companion--now available in the Oxford Paperback Reference series--offers a comprehensive and authoritative guide to all aspects of Ireland's past, from earliest times to the present day. There is coverage not only of leading political figures, organizations, and events, but also of subjects such as dress, music, sport, and diet.

The Oxford Companion to Scottish History interprets history broadly, including archaeology, architecture, climate, culture, folk belief, geology, and the langauages of Scotland. It covers more than 20 centuries of history, including immigrants, migrants, and emigrants. It extends from Orkney and Shetland to Galloway, the Western Isles to the Borders. It deals extensively with Scots abroad, from Canada to Russia to New Zealand. It includes entries on historical figures from Columba, Macbeth, and William Wallace to James (Paraffin) Young. It covers Burns Clubs, curling, and shinty. It ranges from clans to Clearances and Covenanters.

Here is an updated Companion detailing the people and events that have shaped and defined life in Britain over 2,000 years of change. In The Oxford Companion to British History, Revised Edition, over 4,000 entries by more than 100 distinguished contributors offer a wealth of information and insight into the social, political, economic, scientific, cultural, and military aspects of the history of Britain. In addition to the entries on kings, queens, and battles, topics as diverse as gibbeting (the exhibiting of corpses of executed criminals in public), Eadgyth (the mistress of Harold II), and truck (the payment of wages in food and kind) can be found.

Here, in a single convenient volume, is the essential reference book for anyone with an interest in British history. First published in 1997, under the editorship of the late John Cannon and in consultation with over 100 distinguished contributors, this Companion has now been updated by Robert Crowcroft to include the very latest scholarship and research. It describes and analyses the people and events that have shaped and defined life in Britain over more than 2,000 years of political, social, and cultural change, encompassing topics as diverse as the War of the Roses, the Blitz, Stonehenge, Henry VIII, the suffragettes, the industrial revolution, the NHS, the Suez Crisis, the TUC, and the Afghan campaign.

Written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC. New entries to this edition include Diamond Jubilee 2012, Ed Miliband, and United Kingdom Independence Party; and existing entries on David Cameron, Elizabeth II, national debt, and Alex Salmond have been updated.

The Oxford Companion to Australian Politics is the first scholarly and comprehensive account of Australian Politics, covering all aspects of Australian political life and thought in over 400 specially commissioned entries.

Individual entries vary in length, from longer interpretive essays acknowledged experts in particular fields to shorter, more factual entries; entry topics include biographies of key political figures; Central concepts, such as sovereignty, citizenship, and globalization; and the organization and institutions of public administration, law, and politics at all levels.

The archaeological designation for an indigenous Nubian culture; the term “A-Group” was introduced by George A. Reisner (1910) in his chronological model of the Nubian cultures, but it came into general use much later, in connection with the 1960s salvage archaeology of the Nile region that would become flooded by the soon-to-be-built Aswan High Dam. The cultural designations “Archaic,” “Protodynastic,” or “Early Dynastic” had been preferred for it before that time. The term “A Horizon” was first proposed for it by William Y. Adams (1977).

The Oxford Companion to Australian History draws on the latest scholarship and covers people, institutions, and events that have shaped Australian society, politics and culture. There are entries on politicians, colonisers, visionaries, newspaper barons, industrialists, explorers, writers, artists, and scientists. There are numerous extended essays on key facets of the nation's life - political, social, cultural, scientific, military, and economic. Readers will find incisive entries on matters such as, art, capital punishment, gambling, language, literature, military history, republicanism, and reconciliation

This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History. From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.

The Palgrave Encyclopedia Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism objectively presents the prominent themes, epochal events, theoretical explanations, and historical accounts of imperialism from 1776 to the present. It is the most historically and academically comprehensive examination of the subject to date.