2006 ed. From Internet censorship to sex and violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the effect of media on children and adolescents is one of the most widely debated issues in our society. The Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on the media`s interaction with children and adolescents. With more than 400 entries, the two volumes of this resource cover the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact—for good and ill—on children and adolescents.
Two volume set covers media and propoganda in wartime American, beginning with the early colonial wars and ending with current Middle East wars. The first volume covers colonial times to the Spanish-American War and the Philippine Insurrection in 1900 (including the advent of photography and its effects on war reporting). Volume two covers the 20th century through to 2010, including opinion news, technological advances, and the modern fractured media environment.
The work presented in the following pages is by scholars of religion who are examining film as the source (in some way) of insight into the place and meaning of religion in the contemporary world. Most of the analysis is Anglocentric—that is, focused on the English-speaking world, and even within that, within the United States—and because of that, it is also heavily influenced by the cultural dominance of Protestant Christianity. However, an effort has been made to cast the view a bit more broadly to include the world’s religious traditions beyond Protestantism as well as to areas of the film-producing world outside of the United States.
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Examining the tip of a gigantic iceberg, this reference resource examines a sample of the dizzying variety of formats and experiences that comprise social movement media.
First published in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken for the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Edited and largely written by Colin Larkin, it is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative - and incredibly fun to read.
In over 1,000 entries, this acclaimed Companion covers all aspects of the Western fairy tale tradition, from medieval to modern, under the guidance of Professor Jack Zipes. It provides an authoritative reference source for this complex and captivating genre, exploring the tales themselves, the writers who wrote and reworked them, and the artists who illustrated them. It also covers numerous related topics such as the fairy tale and film, television, art, opera, ballet, the oral tradition, music, advertising, cartoons, fantasy literature, feminism, and stamps.
Under the Franco regime (1939-1976), films produced in Spain were of poor quality, promoted the regime’s agenda, or were heavily censored. After the dictator’s death, the Spanish film industry transitioned into a new era, one in which artists were able to more freely express themselves and tackle subjects that had been previously stifled. Today, films produced in Spain are among the most highly regarded in world cinema.