2008 ed. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is a definitive reference work in the field.
2009 ed. Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
2003 ed. Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics in marriage and family issues such as adolescent parenthood, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, and commuter marriages. Also examines the history of family life within different cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
2008 ed. This encyclopedia surveys the scientific research on gender throughout the ages—the people, experiments, and impact—of both legitimate and illegitimate findings on the scientific community, women scientists, and society at large.
2004 ed. Provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same sex institutions, and AIDS.
A sweeping review of the role of women within the American military from the colonial period to the present day.
• An extensive bibliography offers additional reading and research opportunities
• Accessibly written essays introduce the thematic developments of each major conflict in American history
• Supporting photographs and illustrations depict key female figures
• An informative overview in the frontmatter provides historical context to women's roles in the military
This comprehensive, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem.
• Presents personal narratives that highlight the importance of each survivor's unique experience with abuse
• Includes primary source documents that address key legislation and court cases
• Provides a wide range of resources for researchers, such as recommended reading and film lists as well as state, national, and international organizations related to domestic abuse