English Encyclopedias
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for background material in a variety of subjects. There are three sub-collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Cambridge Companions in Music.
Terms of use - Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. Presents a comprehensive survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism.
Terms of use - Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1920–present. A library of works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Includes literature journals and other criticism and reference sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Terms of use - Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 16th century–present. A collection of authoritative materials including editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference.
Terms of use
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature2009 ed. Contains hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts.
- American History through Literature 1820-18702006 ed. Presents literature as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives, endorsing the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
- American History through Literature 1870-19202006 ed. Second volume, continuing coverage from American History through Literature 1820-1870.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Covers biographies, literary criticism, and journals in fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore for all modern languages. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography, along with many other resources.
Terms of use
- Literature Suppressed on Religious GroundsProfiles the censorship of many religious works, including the frequently challenged Harry Potter series, which critics accuse of promoting witchcraft and anti-family themes.
- Literature Suppressed on Sexual GroundsText examines the issues underlying the suppression of more than 120 works deemed sexually obscene.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature2006 ed. Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. Includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator as well as entries on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes.
- British and Irish Literature and Its Time: Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill (Beginnings-1830s)2001 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Great Britain and Ireland, from the Celtic migrations to the Reform Bill.
- British and Irish Literature and Its Times: The Victorian Era to the Present (1837-present)2001 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Great Britain and Ireland, from the Victorian Era to the present.
- Literature Suppressed on Political GroundsIllustrates the extent and frequency of censorship in nearly every form of writing by tyrants, totalitarian states, church institutions, and democratic governments alike that have banned books that challenged their assumptions or questioned their activities.
- Literature Suppressed on Social GroundsLiterature Suppressed on Social Grounds, Third Edition discusses the many works that have been banned over the centuries because they offended or merely ignored official truths; challenged widely held assumptions; or contained ideas or language unacceptable to a state, religious institution, or private moral watchdog.
- The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing byCall Number: Case Ref E-BookPublication Date: 1999From the penny dreadful, which challenges seekers of sensation to discover the truth in a pattern of gory details; to the twentieth-century detective novel, which offers an intricate puzzle solved through the application of the intellect; to the crime novel, which probes the psyches of the characters, the crime and mystery genre offers readers an intellectual excitement unsurpassed by other forms of fiction. Now The Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing provides scholars and fans of this genre with an authoritative yet playful compendium of knowledge about a literature known for its highly entertaining treatment of deadly serious puzzles.
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics byCall Number: Case Ref E-BookPublication Date: 2017Through three editions over more than four decades, The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics has built an unrivaled reputation as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more. Now this landmark work has been thoroughly revised and updated for the twenty-first century. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, the fourth edition--the first new edition in almost twenty years--reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes.
World Literature Encyclopedias
- African Literature and Its Times2000 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Africa.
- Classical Literature and Its Times2006 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on classical literature. Thomson Gale.
- Italian Literature and Its Times2005 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Italy.
- Latin American Literature and Its Times1999 edition, Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Latin America.
- Middle Eastern Literatures and Their Times2004 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from the Middle East.
- Native American literatures: an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes1999 ed. The earliest Native American writers wrote tribal histories or autobiographical accounts. This encyclopedia covers the diverse range of Native American writers.
- Spanish and Portuguese Literatures and Their Times2002 ed. Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Spain and Portugal.
The Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian Literature by Call Number: PL493 .C55 2003ebISBN: 9780231113144Publication Date: 2003-07-10
World Literature in Spanish by Call Number: Case Ref E-BookISBN: 9780313337703Publication Date: 2011-10-20Providing a thorough introduction to Spanish-language literature worldwide and across time is a tall order. However, World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia contains roughly 850 entries on both major and minor authors, themes, genres, and topics of Spanish literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, affording an amazingly comprehensive reference collection in a single work.
The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature by Call Number: Case Ref E-BookISBN: 9780199608218Publication Date: 2012-07-26This book provides a compact guide to all aspects of English literature. For this edition, existing entries have been updated and new entries have been added on contemporary writers such as Jim Crace and Pat Barker
