Digital Encyclopedias on African Studies
- Encyclopedia of African American Education2010 ed. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Kwame Anthony Appiah. This encyclopedia is comprised of entries focusing on African history and culture. The articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.
- New Encyclopedia of Africa2008 ed. Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought2010 ed. From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anticolonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
- Encyclopedia of African Religion2009 ed. This encyclopedia is a comprehensive work to assemble ideas, concepts, discourses, and extensive essays on African religion.
- Africa and the Americas: culture, politics and history2008 ed. This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. the online version of the Europa World Year Book, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Terms of use
- Countries & Their Cultures2001 ed. Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures1996 ed. Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. It is the one of the primary resources for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on most cultures.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures Supplement2002 ed. Lists and describes more than 100 global cultures not covered in the original 10 volume set. Users need to search both the original set and this supplement as there is not overlapping coverage.
- Encyclopedia of African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture2008 ed. An authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 14502006 ed. A comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism, tracing many facets of the history of colonial growth and imperialism. Also addresses the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism, and the major issues at the core of the debate on colonialism and its consequences.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa2004 ed. Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.
- South Africa's diverse peoples: a reference sourcebook2005 ed. Examines 500 years of interaction between the races in a country that became a byword for racial disharmony during the apartheid era.
- Sub-Saharan Africa: An Environmental History2006 ed. Information and analysis on the environmental forces that have helped shaped the cultures of the African continent.
Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: Case Ref E-BookISBN: 0195337700Publication Date: 2010-02-17The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearly two-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship.
Encyclopedia of the Yoruba by Call Number: Case Ref E-BookISBN: 9780253021564Publication Date: 2016-06-20The Yoruba people today number more than 30 million strong, with significant numbers in the United States, Nigeria, Europe, and Brazil. This landmark reference work emphasizes Yoruba history, geography and demography, language and linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and art. The 285 entries include biographies of prominent Yoruba figures, artists, and authors; the histories of political institutions; and the impact of technology and media, urban living, and contemporary culture on Yoruba people worldwide. Written by Yoruba experts on all continents, this encyclopedia provides comprehensive background to the global Yoruba and their distinctive and vibrant history and culture.
Print Encyclopedia on African Studies
Africa contemporary record : annual survey and documentsCall Number: Case Ref DT1 .A35ISBN: 00653845Publication Date: 1969-Look for the latest edition in the Case reference collection. Older editions back to 1968/69 are in the main collection under the same call number.
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara by Call Number: CASE Ref. DT351 .E53ISBN: 0684804662Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Encyclopedia of African History by Call Number: CASE Ref. DT20 .E53 2005ISBN: 1579582451Publication Date: 2004-11-22
The Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa by Call Number: CASE Ref. DT2 .E53 1997ISBN: 0761989021Publication Date: 1997-08-20
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History by Call Number: CASE Ref. DT29 .E53 2003ISBN: 0415234794Publication Date: 2002-12-20
