Joshua Finnell
President
- White HouseThe official website of the President. Contains links to news briefings, speeches, policy issues, and historical information about the building.
- Archived Past-President's White House websitesThe National Archives has taken an additional step to "freeze" White House websites for access purposes. These "frozen in time" sites are representations of the original websites and approximate the interface and functionality for easy access by the public. These websites are no longer updated so links to external websites and some internal pages will not work.
- Vital Statistics on the Presidency: George Washington to Barack Obama by Lyn RagsdaleWashington, D.C.: CQ Press, an Imprint of SAGE Publications, Inc., 2014
- Guide to the Presidency and the Executive BranchThousand Oaks, Calif.: CQ Press, 2013
Case Reference JK516.G83 - Presidential Libraries & MuseumsPresidential Libraries are overseen by the National Archives and Records Administration, who preserve and provide access to historical materials, support research, and create interactive programs and exhibits that educate and inspire. This website provides an excellent introduction to the kins of materials in the Libraries as well as direct links to libraries from Hoover to the present.
- People of the Founding Era: A Biographical Resource This link opens in a new windowA scholarly reference work that provides biographical information on over 75,000 people born between 1713 (the end of Queen Anne's War) and 1815 (the end of the Napoleonic War).
Terms of use
Presidential Papers, Statements and Executive Orders
- American Presidency ProjectFull text of signing statements, Public Papers of the President, executive orders and proclamations, press conferences, and more. Only place to read signing statments
- Public Papers of the PresidentWashington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 1960-
Case Documents AE 2.114:
Includes Hoover, Truman - present (not FDR). Also available on the American Presidency Project website - Compilation of Presidential DocumentsWeekly 1992-2008; daily 2009-present
- A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents ... with additions and encyclopedic index by private enterpriseNew York : Bureau of National Literature, c1897
LASR Main 353.03 Un31 - Statements of Administration Policy on Non-Appropriations and Appropriations BillsCoverage: 1985-present (Reagan-Biden). Full text of Presidential position statements about proposed legislation. From the American Presidency Project
- Presidential Directives and where to find themList of sources (some online) which contain presidential directives. Maintained by the staff of the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room of the Library of Congress.
- CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders & ProclamationsWashington, D.C. : Congressional Information Service, c1987
Case Ref Document Z1223.Z7 C65 1987 - Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive OrdersCase Ref Documents AE 1. 113:
Coverage: April 13, 1945 - January 20, 1989 (Truman-Regan). Also available online at the National Archives
National Archives Executive Orders
Coverage: 1933- . Compiled and maintained by the Office of the Federal Register, contains information about Executive Orders beginning with those signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Arranged chronologically. Full text begins with Clinton administration (1993). The Disposition Tables include the following information:
- Executive order number;
- Date of signing by the President
- Federal Register volume, page number, and issue date
- Title
- Amendments (if any)
- Current status (where applicable)
Presidential Vetos
- Case Ref Document (1789-2000) Y 1.3:S.pub. includes a list
- Congress.gov (1973)-
Included in Bill Summary & Status, All Congressional Activity. In Advanced Search, select desired congress, and under Stage in Legislative Process, select "Vetoed by President". Often links to the veto message, if any - Public Papers of the President and Compilations
- Often printed in the Congressional Record
- Included in the American Presidency Project, but hidden. Scroll down on the home page and search "Veto"