Joshua Finnell
FRUS
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
Volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy." Volumes begin with materials for 1861. The most recent volume is published with a minimum of a 25-year time-lag.
Digital Collections
- Foreign Relations of the United States (HeinOnline collection)Link will only work when you are on campus or using the Colgate VPN. Covers 1861-1988. Includes CRS, CFR, GAO reports, and American Foreign Policy documents. Extensive collection
- State Dept's historical documentsVolumes of FRUS available online for free (focused on post 1960); for newer administrations, the site can tell you if they have been published yet or still being researched.
- FRUS collection from University of Wisconsin-MadisonDigital facsimiles of 1861-1960 volumes and indices.
- Locating Treaties in HeinOnlineYou must be on campus or using the VPN to access the links in the article
FRUS print materials
Print volumes of the Foreign Relations of the United States have been relocated to level 1 of Case-Geyer. .
- American Foreign Policy, 1950-1955 Basic DocumentsLevel 1 of Case library, Government Documents Reference Collection S 1.71/2
- Colgate's FRUS print collectionLocated on Level 1 Case Library, Government Reference Collection, S 1.1.
- A decade of American foreign policy: basic documents 1941-1949Rev Edition, Case Library level 1, Government Documents Reference collection S 1.69:415
- Documents on American Foreign RelationsRequest specific volumes from LASR storage. 1938-1970.
- Peace and War: United States Foreign Policy 1931-1941Print volume located on Level 1 of Case Library, Government Documents Reference collection, S 1.2:P 31/8
Other related materials
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1940s–present. A collection of declassified government documents, arranged into collections. Each collection, compiled by top scholars and experts, covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Terms of use
- Treaties in Force digital collectionLinks to a variety of sources for historical and current access to the yearly Treaties in Force
- Frontline Diplomacy:The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and TrainingDigital Collection at the Library of Congress of interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST). These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA joint project of the Navy Postgraduate School and the National Preparedness Directorate and FEMA (Homeland Security Department). Contains documents about contemporary and historical issues in homeland security and related fields, including presidential directives and executive orders, CRS reports, and news releases. Material comes from federal, state, local, and international governments and institutions, nonprofit organizations, and private entities.
Terms of use
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy2002 ed. Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.
- American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to Literature This link opens in a new window2008 ed. An update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to the present day.
Terms of use