Library Liaison
2021 Impeachment
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 4 (January 6, 2021)Counting the electoral votes and riot at the Congressional building. (Page H85 2:29pm House stood in Recess until 9:02pm, page S18 2:13pm Senate stood in Recess until 8:06pm)
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, issue 6, (January 11,2021)House Res. 21 calling to activate the 25th amendment (H120), and House Res. 24, 26, 32 & 34 impeaching Trump (H123)
- H. Res 24 Impeaching Donald John Trump for High Crimes and MisdemeanorsHouse Resolution 24 text.
- H. Res 32 Impeaching Donald John Trump for High Crimes and MisdemeanorsHouse Resolution 32 text
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 7 (January 12, 2021)Discussion of House Resolution 21 asking VP to activate section 4 of article 25
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 8 (January 13, 2021)Discussion and vote on Articles of Impeachment.
- UCSD's guide to the Capitol AttackUC San Diego library guide to documents and information around the January 6, 2021 attack of the Capitol.
- House Judiciary Impeachment Memo (PDF)Feb 2, 2021 Memo from the House Judiciary outlining the Trump impeachment constitutional case.
- S. Doc. 117-2 Part I - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of Donald John TrumpContains Precept, Writ of Summons, Return of Service, Trump's Answer to Article of Impeachment, and the House Judiciary Trial memo.
- S. Doc. 117-2 Part II - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of Donald John TrumpContains replication of the House's Answer to Trump's response to the Articles of Impeachment and the Trial Memo of Trump.
- S. Doc. 117-2 Part III - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of Donald John TrumpContains the House's Reply Memo.
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 23 (February 8, 2021)Impeachment discussion begins on S566.
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 24 (February 9, 2021)Impeachment trial opening statements on constitutionality of impeaching a former president. Defense statements begin on S597.
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 25 (February 10, 2021)House case against Trump, day 1.
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 26 (February 11, 2021)House case against Trump, day 2
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 167, Issue 28 (February 13, 2021)Final day of impeachment hearing
2020 Impeachment
- The whistleblower report as an audio bookFree from Penguin Random House audio.
- C-Span's impeachment coverageIncludes debates and congressional hearings, as well as responses.
- 116th Congress, House Resolution 660, outlining the impeachment probe"H. Res. 660 (EH) - Directing certain committees to continue their ongoing investigations as part of the existing House of Representatives inquiry into whether sufficient grounds exist for the House of Representatives to exercise its Constitutional power to impeach Donald John Trump, President of the United States of America, and for other purposes."
- Just Security's public document clearinghouse for the Impeachment InquiryJust Security has compiled and curated all publicly available documents in Congress’s impeachment inquiry concerning President Donald Trump in connection with Ukraine.
- The Trump-Ukraine Impeachment Inquiry Report (House)Report released 3 Dec 2019. Final report from the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence.
- Report of Evidence in the Democrats Impeachment Inquiry in the House of Representatives (House Republicans)Released 2 Dec 2019. Republican minority report on the impeachment inquiry.
- House Judiciary Committee Impeachment InquiryThe impeachment inquiry has moved on to the House Judiciary Committee as of 4 Dec 2019.
- House Resolution 755, Articles of Impeachment Against President Donald J. TrumpDecember 10, 2019 introduced in House by Jerrold Nadler. Article I: Abuse of Power, "Using the powers of his high office, President Trump solicited the interference of a foreign government, Ukraine, in the 2020 United States Presidential election." Article II: Obstruction of Congress "...President Trump directed Executive Branch agencies, offices, and officials not to comply with those subpoenas."
- The Impeachment Papers: A compendium of Documents Related to the Impeachment of President Donald J. TrumpDigital Public Library's collection of materials related to the impeachment. This ebook will be updated as more materials are made available.
- S. Doc. 116-12 Part I - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of President Donald John Trump PART IContains Precept, Writ of Summons, and Return of Service.
- S. Doc. 116-12 Part II - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of President Donald John Trump PART IContains the President's answer to the articles of impeachment and House's Trial memorandum.
- S. Doc. 116-12 Part III - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of President Donald John Trump PART IContains the replication of the House's response to the President's response, and the President's Trial Memorandum.
- S. Doc. 116-12 Part IV - Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of President Donald John Trump PART IContains the House's reply memorandum.
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 12, (January 21, 2020)Complete Proceedings and Debates of the Tuesday, January 21, 2020 session of Congress.
- Daily Congressional Record, Volume 166, Issue 13, (January 22, 2020)Complete Proceedings and Debates of the Wednesday, January 22, 2020 session of Congress. Opening Statements begin, House's case.
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 14, (January 23, 2020)Complete proceedings and debates of the Thursday, January 23, 2020 session of Congress. House's case
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 15, (January 24, 2020)Complete proceedings and debates of the Friday, January 24, 2020 session of Congress. House's case.
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 16, (January 25, 2020)Complete proceedings and debates of the Saturday January 25, 2020 session of Congress. Defense's Case.
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 17, (January 27, 2020)Complete proceedings and debates of the Monday, January 27, 2020 session of Congress. Defense's case.
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 18, (January 28, 2020)Complete proceedings and debates of the Tuesday, January 28, 2020 session of Congress. Defense's case
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 19, (January 29, 2020)Complete proceedings and debates of the Wednesday, January 29, 2020 session of Congress. Beginning of Q&A.
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 21, (January 31, 2020)Vote on Subpoenas
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 22, (February 3, 2020)Beginning of Closing Arguments
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 23, (February 4, 2020)Final closing arguments
- Daily Congressional Record Volume 166, Issue 24, (February 5, 2020)Final impeachment hearing
Constitution
Article II, Section 4 of the U.S. Constitution states that "The President, Vice-President, and all Civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, and other high Crimes and Misdemeanors."
- Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationFull text online analysis of the Constitution. 2017 is the most recent edition, use ctrl-F and search "impeachment" for the relevant sections.
General Information
- Cornell’s LII Backgrounder on ImpeachmentLegal background on the impeachment process
- Senate’s role in impeachmentOfficial Senate information on the impeachment process
- Law Library of Congress’s resources on impeachmentA bibliography of resources (books and articles) on the impeachment process
The Presidency and the Executive Branch by Call Number: CASE Ref JK516 .G85 2013 volume 1 & 2Publication Date: 2012-08-132013 edition, see volume 1, "Selection and Removal of the President." Print volumes only.
Colgate Government Resources
- Proquest CongressionalClick on Advanced Search under the search bar to select specific Congressional resources. Includes Daily Congressional Record updated daily.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th ad 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, and CFR from inception.
Terms of use
- Background and History of ImpeachmentCASE Documents, Level 1 Y 4.J 89/1:105/63
"hearing before the Subcommittee on the Constitution of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Fifth Congress, second session, November 9, 1998" - S. Doc. 99-33 - PROCEDURE AND GUIDELINES FOR IMPEACHMENT TRIALS IN THE UNITED STATES SENATEPrepared Pursuant To Senate Resolution 439, 99th Congress, 2d Session (1986). Separate sections discuss Constitutional provisions; Senate rules; sequence of events; precedents and practices; and sequence of events when closing the trial.
- How to search the Senate ManualHow to search for impeachment rules and procedures in multiple Senate Manuals.
- House ManualUse the same search tips for the Senate Manual as for the House Practices (Manual)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1991–present. Comprehensive reports on current social, economic, political, and environmental issues in the news. Each report presents an extensive overview and then discusses pros and cons to critical questions. Most have substantial bibliographies for further investigation.
Terms of use
- CRS report "An Overview of the Impeachment Process"The original document was removed in November, and the link has been updated to reflect the University of North Texas's digital copy.
- Senate's updated impeachment materialsSeveral Senate documents have been collected together and reorganized through this access portal on the Senate's website.
- The Oath before the Trial of the Impeachment of Clinton"Congressional Record (Bound edition), volume 145 (1999), Part 1, Senate, Page 274.
- HeinOnline direct link to the U.S> Presidential Impeachment LibraryLink may not work off-campus.