Library Liaison
Accessible Databases
For the purposes of this guide, an "accessible" database is any journal article database that provides multiple alternate formats of articles. This may include downloadable audio files or HTML-format articles.
For more accessibility tips, please see the Open University UK Database Accessibility Tips.
Accessibility Guides
- Navigate EbscoHost databases with a screen reader or Braille displayKeyboard navigation shortcuts and tips on searching with a screen reader or Braille display.
- EbscoHost eBook Accessibility guide"Most full book downloads require Adobe Digital Editions reader. Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) can be used with Voiceover, NVDA, and JAWS, and offers other accessibility features such as high contrast mode and full keyboard support."
- Proquest Databases and eBook accessibility overviewgeneral information about the accessibility of Proquest databases and eBooks, as well as instructions to remediate the articles yourself.
- Databases with Accessibility Issues (The Open University)"The instructions provided here mainly relate to screen readers, with some information for keyboard only users. Resources were tested using JAWS and Internet Explorer, but should be useful for other screen readers and browsers."
- Library E-Resources Accessibility Testing (UW Libraries)"Testing results are only for keyboard testing. Further testing will need to be done to determine if a resource is fully accessible to WCAG 2.1 AA standards. However, a resource that fails the keyboard test will be of highest priority since it is unusable with assistive technology."
Audio files available
Gale Databases include a "Listen" option on all articles, which is a simple text-to-speech option built into the interface. You can listen to an article in the browser, or download an mp3 for later listening.
EbscoHost Databases offers a simple text-to-speech "Listen" option for any articles available in HTML. Ebsco does not allow you to listen to PDF articles. Articles can be listened to online or downloaded as an mp3 for later listening. In addition, you can also automatically translate HTML articles in other languages, but the "Listen" option is not available for translated articles.
Articles are in HTML
Project Muse Premium Collection includes HTML articles for many of their journals. HTML can be accessed through the "View" link for any search result. "View Summary" means the article is only available in PDF.
Proquest Databases include some articles in HTML.
EbscoHost Databases offers many articles in HTML, as well as translations to other languages and a "Listen" text-to-speech option.