Library Liaison
Search Tip
When searching for material related to a specific disability, it is best to use the most specific term you can when searching journals (search "deaf" rather than "disabled" to find information related specifically to the Deaf community). You can find a list of subject terms in the Books/Search Terms tab.
Journal Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975-present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals - 4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed)
Terms of use - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over one thousand leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1951-present. Indexes and asbstracts social science and interdisciplinary research. For book reviews, search title of book and REVIEW in Publication Type.
Terms of use - Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Professional Development Collection provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Terms of use - ERIC This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1966-present. The Educational Resource Information Center, containing citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals and ERIC documents (on microfiche and online).
Terms of use - PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1894-present. A source for scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA)
Terms of use - INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1969-present. A bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world`s scientific and technical literature.
Terms of use
Looking for the full text?
- Journal Finder/Article LinkerWhen you already have a citation, but you need the full text of the article, you can click on this link to go directly to the Journal Finder/Article Linker. It's the same catalog of full-text journals Colgate has access to that's available from the front page of the library website.
Full-Text Journals
- British Journal of Learning Disabilities
- Critical Disability Discourses (Grad Student journal from the University of Toronto-open access)
- Disability Studies Quarterly (open access)
- Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities (previously Education & Training in Developmental Disabilities)
- Information Technology and Disabilities
- International Journal of Inclusive Education
- Journal of Applied Research in Intellectual Disabilities
- Journal of Disability Policy Studies
- Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
- Journal of Policy and Practice in Intellectual Disabilities (limited access)
- Learning Disabilities Quarterly
- Learning Disabilities Research & Practice
- Research & Practice for Persons with Severe Disabilities
- Review of Disability Studies (open access)
- Sexuality & Disability