Library Liaison
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Related Guides
Best Bets
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of PeaceOffers a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced with other useful points of interest within the encyclopedia. In addition to A-to-Z entries, the Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1951–present. Indexes and abstracts social science and interdisciplinary research. For book reviews, search title of book and REVIEW in Publication Type.
Terms of use - PAIS International This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1915–present. Covers all aspects of public affairs including political science, sociology, and health with an international view. Coverage includes foreign language materials and some U.S. congressional documents. Includes references previously contained in the PAIS Archive.
Terms of use - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use
Keywords for Finding Primary Sources in the Library Catalog
Combine these keywords with your search topic:
- sources [documents collected from multiple sources]
- archives [use for people or organizations]
- facsimiles
- correspondence [use with names of people, families, ethnic groups, organizations]
- description and travel [use with names of places]
- diaries [use with names or classes of people, ethnic groups, organizations]
- journals
- interviews [use with names or classes of people, ethnic groups, organizations]
- notebooks [use with names of people]
- speeches
- sermons
- pamphlets
- personal narratives [use only with armed conflicts or events]
- pictorial works
- posters
- photographs
- Press coverage
- caricatures and cartoons
- diplomatic history [used only with armed conflicts]
- treaties (used with subjects, geographic areas, ethnic groups, wars)
- maps