Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- American National Biography"Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation."
- Encyclopedia of World BiographyA multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
- Dictionary of World Biography2019. 6th edition. Arranged alphabetically.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference books from Oxford University Press, which can be searched as a collection.
Terms of use
(Auto) Biographies and Memoirs
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. A catalog of materials held by libraries worldwide including books, serials, media, and electronic resources. Users can request materials not held by Colgate via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Note that it is not possible to request ebooks via ILL.
A Selection of Oral Histories on the Web
- Oral History Archives at Columbia UniversityAt over 10,000 interviews, the Oral History Archives is one of the largest oral history collections in the United States.
- American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War IFrom the Library of Congress digitized collections.
- Presidential Oral HistoriesOral histories from leading figures in the administrations of Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, and Clinton.
- National World War II MuseumExplore by Topic. Narratives include interviews with leading figures.
- America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1939–1949. This digital resource shows how World War II changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and families, and the legacy of the war in human terms. American military and civilian involvement in all major theatres of operations is represented, while service branches range from the army, navy, and air force, to the marines, merchant marines, coast guards, and medical personnel. Experience operations in the Pacific, the D-Day landings in Europe, and the post-war occupation of Germany through personal letters, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records, and watch as 300 people share their memories of military life, prisoner of war camps, and the Home Front in oral history video interviews.
Terms of use
