Library Liaison
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Finding Background Information on a War/Armed Conflict
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of PeaceOffers a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced with other useful points of interest within the encyclopedia. In addition to A-to-Z entries, the Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices.
- The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Peace and Conflict Studies2022 ed. Provides a comprehensive overview of major theories and approaches to the study of peace and conflict across different humanities and social sciences disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II2010 ed. Presents detailed descriptions and analyses of some 200 major post–World War II conflicts around the globe, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe—along with 12 thematic essays, biographical profiles, profiles of major international organizations, and a glossary. Text coverage is supported by nearly 200 maps and 100 photos.
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War: a political, social, and military history2007 ed. A comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world.
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, and military history2011 ed. A comprehensive study of one of the longest and most divisive conflicts in U.S. history.
- Armed Conflict Survey 2021Offers in-depth analysis of the drivers, dynamics and outlook of 34 current armed conflicts along with detailed information on conflict parties and more than 60 full-colour maps and infographics.
Searching for books
Three primary search tools will help you find books:
- Main search box on the library home page
- This tool searches a majority of all the Colgate Libraries resources
- Retrieves books, articles, and more
- After your initial search, limit to Book / eBook in the left side menu under Content Type
- Classic Catalog
- This tool searches books and media only
- Look for link to the Classic Catalog under the Research tab on library home page
- WorldCat
- This tool searches the catalogs of libraries all over the world (including Colgate's)
- Use the "My Loan" link in a book record to submit an interlibrary loan request for any book not included in the Colgate Libraries collections
- The link to the WorldCat database is located under the Research tab on the library home page