Subject Terms
Do a SUBJECT search in the Classic Catalog (accessible from the Research tab on the library home page):
ATLASES
Atlases in Case library are located on level 3 near the print journals/magazines
area.
Physical maps in Books (including atlases)
Search the Classic Catalog (access from the Research tab on the library home page):
1. By Keyword
Example: maps American Revolutionary war
Example: civil war maps
Example: Atlas Russia
2. By Subject
Example: Atlases
Example: maps Vietnam
Example: historical geography russia
Search the One Search box on the library home page. Use the limiters in the left column to limit your results to maps.
Online maps
Main Search box on the library home page
After your initial search (e.g. Civil War maps), limit your search by Content Type to Maps from the left-side menu. Many of your results will be online maps available through the Library of Congress.
You can also do a search on an organization that creates maps, e.g. U.S. Army Map Services.
- Library of Congress: Collections with MapsDigital Collections from the Library of Congress include numerous collections of maps focused on specific conflicts or geographical areas.
- Military Battles and Campaigns (Library of Congress)Campaigns of major military conflicts including troop movements, defensive structures and groundworks, roads to and from sites of military engagements, campsites, and local buildings, topography and vegetation
- David Rumsey Map CollectionOver 200,000 maps from the 16th through the 20th century. Search your conflict location and then use the left side menu to limit to year and/or map type (military).
- German World War II Captured MapsInformation about the project to digitize and make available online the maps captured by the United States from foreign militaries during World War II.
Databases with articles that may include maps
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Terms of use - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use - PAIS International This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1915–present. Covers all aspects of public affairs including political science, sociology, and health with an international view. Coverage includes foreign language materials and some U.S. congressional documents. Includes references previously contained in the PAIS Archive.
Terms of use
