Chronology of Primary Source Databases
Click here to access a list of primary source databases arranged by chronological coverage.
A Selection of Primary Sources Databases ( see also the Chronology above)
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1940s–present. A collection of declassified government documents, arranged into collections. Each collection, compiled by top scholars and experts, covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Terms of use - Foreign Relations of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1945–present (runs 20–30 years behind current). The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Terms of use - Foreign Office Files for Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1919–1952. This collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. Each self-contained collection is clustered in a portal for ease of cross-searching and browsing or can be searched as part of the Archives Direct collection.
Terms of use - Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1919–1980. A collection of all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Each self-contained collection is clustered in a portal for ease of cross-searching and browsing or can be searched as part of the Archives Direct collection.
Terms of use - Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917–1970 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970–1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.
Terms of use
Government/State Sources
- National ArchivesDocuments and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government
- United Nations Digital LibrarySearchable access to a wide range of documents generated by the various bodies of the United Nations
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies. Indexes the United States Congressional Serial Set and other publications of the U.S. Congress, including committee prints and hearings and the Congressional Record. The Serial Set—which Colgate also owns in paper—is a treasure trove of historical materials about the country, including foreign relations. Also includes stories from the Washington Post, Roll Call, and The Hill and links to hot bills/topics and other websites.
Terms of use
- The British National ArchivesIt is "the UK government's official archive, containing 1,000 years of history".[3] There are separate national archives in some of the devolved parts of the United Kingdom: the National Archives of Scotland holds government and private documents relating to Scotland and the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland holds records for Northern Ireland. The National ARchives was formerly four separate organisations: the Public Record Office, the Historical Manuscripts Commission, the Office of Public Sector Information (OPSI) and Her Majesty's Stationery Office (HMSO).
- British LibraryThe National Library of the United Kingdom. Use the Research tab to search the online resources.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)Provides access to regional economic reports, plus a variety of economic outlook and global financial stability reports. 1990s - present (coverage varies).
- WikileaksWikiLeaks specializes in the analysis and publication of large datasets of censored or otherwise restricted official materials involving war, spying and corruption. It has so far published more than 10 million documents and associated analyses. Founded by Julian Assange in 2006.
- OffshoreleaksFrom the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, this database contains information on more than 810,000 offshore entities that are part of the Pandora Papers, Paradise Papers, Bahamas Leaks, Panama Papers and Offshore Leaks investigations. The data links to people and companies in more than 200 countries and territories.
- Central Intelligence Agency Reading RoomHere you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs.
- U.S. Department of State: Virtual Reading RoomFreedom of Information Act documents search.
- Cold War International History ProjectEstablished at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. in 1991, and seeks to disseminate new information and perspectives on Cold War history emerging from historical materials newly released by governments on all sides of the Cold War. Site contains a mixture of working papers and archival sources.
Business Archives/Databases
- Virginia Company Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1550–1739. Documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London. Shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas and provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America. There is valuable evidence on the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia and new evidence of tensions among the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.
Terms of use - East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1599–1947. A unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond.
Terms of use - Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1600–2010. Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript, and printed materials sourced from over 20 key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organizations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of 15 major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world.
Terms of use - Market Research and American Business, 1935–1965 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1935–1989. Provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, one of the era’s foremost consumer analysts and a market research pioneer.
Terms of use - Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Terms of Use
Organizational Websites
- African Activist ArchiveAn online archive of primary materials - documents, photographs, artifacts, and written and oral memories - of 50 years of activist organizing in the United States in solidarity with African struggles against colonialism, apartheid, and injustice.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaProvides access to a wealth of digitized primary sources on a wide variety of subjects. Browse by topic, or access specific primary source sets.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryEuropean primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. - Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.