Library Liaison
Alexandra Grimm
Contact:
Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
315-228-6592
Subjects: Art and Art History, Chinese, Classical Studies, CORE, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Jewish Studies, Languages Modern, LGBTQ Studies, Literature, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Romance Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Theater, Writing and Rhetoric
Introduction
This page will direct you to resources on the historical background of the development and use of gender-neutral/epicene/generic/non-sexist singular pronouns in the English language.
Bibliographies
While the libraries aren't able to secure a copy of Dennis Baron's new book, "What's your Pronoun? Beyond he or she," it now is the only location of Dr. Baron's extensive timeline of gender-neutral and non-binary pronouns.
- Grammar and Gender byCall Number: Case Main PE1074.75 .B37 1986Publication Date: 1987-01-01Bibliography covers 1850-1985
- Web of Language by Dennis BaronDennis Baron's blog on language, with many article dedicated to pronouns.
- Bibliography of Artificial Pronouns by David KendalBibliography split into sections of "Requests", "Proposals", "Histories", "Studies of Usage", "Usage", "Related Natural Pronouns", and "News."
- "Nonbinary Gender Identities in Media" by the ALA Rainbow Round Table [PDF]From the American Library Association. An annotated bibliography of nonbinary gender identities. Includes extensive glossary and definition of abbreviations.
- Singular "Their" in Jane Austen and elsewhere by Henry ChurchyardExamples and brief history of the use of the singular "they", focused primarily on Jane Austen. Includes a short bibliography and several links to further reading.
- Gender Neutral Pronoun blog ResourcesAll the articles used in the 2010 Gender Neutral Pronoun blog organized by pronoun. Annotated.
- MyPronouns.orgresources on using personal pronouns, and what to do when you make a mistake.
An Interdisciplinary Bibliography on Language, Gender and Sexuality (2000-2011) by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2012-09-11Bibliography covers 2000-2011
Gender-Neutral Pronoun Pronunciation
- FORGE Forward's pronunciation guidePublished in 2009
- Wikipedia's pronunciation guideScroll down for the table of pronouns and their pronunciations.
The Wide Variety of Gender-Neutral Pronouns
- UWM's LGBTQ Resource Guide to Gender-Neutral PronounsUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison's LGBTQ Resource Center has an FAQ and brief overview of gender-neutral pronouns.
- NonBinary.org's International list of Gender-Neutral PronounsCovers Arabic to Swedish, and includes origin citations and usage examples.
- Colgate University's Guide to Personal Gender PronounsPDF table tent with information on the PGP program and trans* issues.
Usage of Gender-Neutral Pronouns in the LGBTQ community
My New Gender Workbook, Updated by Call Number: Case Main HQ1075 .B69 2013Publication Date: 2013-04-17Originally published in 1997, Bornstein uses "ze" and "hir" extensively throughout the text.
Trans Liberation: Beyond Pink or Blue by Call Number: Case Main HQ77.95.U6 F45 1998Publication Date: 1998-10-02Developed from speeches given in 1997, Feinberg deftly illustrates the evolutions and usages of gender-neutral pronouns (among many other topics).
Genderqueer: Voices from beyond the sexual binary by Call Number: Case Main HQ76.25 .G46 2002Publication Date: 2002-08-01Essays by genderqueer individuals.
The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You by Call Number: Case Main HQ77.9 .B47 2009Publication Date: 2009-10-01Bergman uses ze/hir extensively in his work. For further examples, read "Butch is a Noun."
