Library Liaison
Alexandra Grimm
Contact:
Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
315-228-6592
Subjects: Art and Art History, Chinese, Classical Studies, CORE, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Jewish Studies, Languages Modern, LGBTQ Studies, Literature, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Romance Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Theater, Writing and Rhetoric
Terminology Tip
Most article databases prior to 2006 primarily used the subject term "homosexual" or "homosexuality" to refer to LGBTQ populations. EBSCO databases tend to have the most extensive subject thesaurus, but may not have updated the subject terms in older articles. If the material you are searching is historical, you will likely need to use the term "homosexual" in addition to your other keywords.
When searching for material on trans populations, it is sometimes helpful to search "transgender" or "transsexual" in the subject terms--not as keywords. Transgender often comes up as part of the "lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer" phrase when you use it as a keyword, and can lead to a lot of unrelated articles in your results.
For more subject terms, please see the Books/Search Terms section.
Articles
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers, and videos. Also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over 1,000 leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use - Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995–present. Provides access to humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from a number of scholarly publishers. Colgate upgraded to the premium collection in 2019.
Terms of use - GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. A database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, providing important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.
Terms of use - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1972–present. Covers the core disciplines in women's studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research. Women's Studies International has the highest percent of coverage for core titles in the field.
Terms of use - Sociological Abstracts Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1963–present. Covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Terms of use - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1951–present. Indexes and abstracts social science and interdisciplinary research. For book reviews, search title of book and REVIEW in Publication Type.
Terms of use - ERIC This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1966–present. The Educational Resource Information Center contains citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals and ERIC documents (on microfiche and online).
Terms of use - PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1887–present. Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. For more focused searching, see the PsycInfo Thesaurus searching tutorial.
Terms of use
- Digital Transgender ArchiveCollections of archival material including newsletters and zines related to trans* history.
- America: History and Life with full text This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1964–present. A resource for studying the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Terms of use
Browse Peer Reviewed Full Text Journals
- Columbia Journal of Gender & Law
- Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy (DUKEJGLP)
- Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology Review
- Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
- GLQ: A Journal of Gay & Lesbian Studies
- Journal of Homosexuality
- Journal of the History of Sexuality
- Lambda Nordica
- Psychology of Sexual Identity and Gender Diversity
- Sextures
- Tulane Journal of Law & Sexuality
- Transgender Studies Quarterly
Browse Full-Text Journal Subscriptions
Looking for a journal from a citation?
- Journal Finder/Article LinkerWhen you already have a citation, but you need the full text of the article, you can click on this link to go directly to the Journal Finder/Article Linker. It's the same catalog of full-text journals Colgate has access to that's available from the front page of the library website.