Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

German

Resources for German studies

External Websites

filmportal.de
This site provides information on over 85,000 German films and 194,000 people associated with the making of those films. Video clips, book reviews, and other supplemental information on film-related themes are also included.

UCLA Language Materials Project Unrestricted Access 
The UCLA Language Materials Project (LMP) is an on-line bibliographic database of teaching and learning materials for over 150 Less Commonly Taught Languages (LCTLs). Funded by the US Department of Education's International Education and Research program, the LMP was created in 1992. It offers a bibliographic database of teaching materials, language portals, K-12 gateway, materials reports, authentic materials, CARLA institutional database, and the Center for Applied Linguistics database of teaching materials for the less commonly taught languages

Language resources from the Digital Librarian: a librarian's choice of the nest of the web Unrestricted Access 
Digital Librarian is maintained by Margaret Vail Anderson, a librarian in Cortland, New York.

Historische Bibliographie Online Unrestricted Access Some full text available 
Die Datenbank Historische Bibliographie Online umfasst derzeit 357.925 bibliographische Einträge von publizierten Titeln historischer Fachliteratur seit 1990: Monographien, Beiträge aus Zeitschriften und Sammelwerken. Sie wird ergänzt durch das Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung mit 8.799 Einträgen entstehender, noch nicht veröffentlichter Forschungsarbeiten.  [German langauge resource]

Germanistik im Netz Unrestricted Access Some full text available 
Comprehensive database for all things German.  Very customizable search options and filters but rather hard to navigate. Note: certain feautres, such as links to ejournals, are only available through a subscription which we do not have. 

German National Library Unrestricted Access 
Catalogue of the holdings of the Deutschen Nationalbibliothek since 1913. It comprises of publications like printed books, online publications, digital and digitized publications, newspapers, journals, maps, theses and dissertations of all subjects. German-language publications issued abroad are recorded until publication year 1996. Translations of German publications and foreign-language publications about Germany are recorded since 1941. Single chapters or articles of books or journals are not recorded.

Deutsche Biographie (ABD) Unrestricted Access Some full text available 
Searchable biographical database of over 92,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. It includes full text of the print publications Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (56 volumes and index, 1875-1912), and Neue deutsche Biographie (23 volumes, 1953-present) as well as links to library resources from the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, the Bayerischer Verbundkatalog and the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek

Munzinger Online Unrestricted Access Some full text available 
 Provides limited free access to short biographies of younger German VIPs, politicians, artists, actors etc. Note: certain feautres are only available through a subscription which we do not have. [German langauge resource]


Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300