Excellent source for background material in a variety of subjects. There are three sub-collections: the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Cambridge Companions in Music.
Terms of use

Currently the collection contains more than 258 digitized volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories series, covering 15 subject areas. Useful for locating background information in almost any subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
Terms of use

The Encyclopedia of German Literature and its supplemental series, The Encyclopedia of German Literature: The 20th Century and The Encyclopedia of German Literature: The Middle Ages. Spanning an extended time scale from the early Middle Ages to the recent present, the database is unique for its comprehensive scope, featuring articles on German-language authors from Germany, Switzerland, Austria, and other European countries. In addition to profiling the lives and works of literary figures, the database also contains extensive reference information on research publications. The volumes on the Middle Ages cover German-language literature from the 8th to the 15th centuries and are systematically organized by genre and topic area.
Terms of use

Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than 1 million artists, In addition to the biography, each article contains information on the artist's creative work and his or her art historical significance. A selection of works with their locations, details of exhibitions and an extensive bibliography round off each article.
Terms of use