Library Liaison
Alexandra Grimm
Contact:
Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
315-228-6592
Subjects: Art and Art History, Chinese, Classical Studies, CORE, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Jewish Studies, Languages Modern, LGBTQ Studies, Literature, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Romance Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Theater, Writing and Rhetoric
Highlighted Resource: Kanopy
Kanopy is a database of more than 30,000 streaming videos, including classic, independent, and documentary films. This database includes a diverse collection of films in a variety of subjects, which are listed here: https://www.kanopystreaming.com/subjects.
Features include:
- Watch films on your devices, such as phones, tablets, and smart TVs with an Elon login, as well as linked in a Moodle site.
- Create a (free) Kanopy account
- Add films to a Watchlist
- The films also come with public performance rights, meaning that they can legally be shown at campus-wide advertised events.
-
Kanopy Streaming VideoLarge collection of video documentaries and movies from many producers covering many subjects; pop culture, nursing, public health, lgbt issues, social sciences, sciences, political science and events, the arts, global studies, education, etc.
Video
- Academic Videos Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 70,000 streaming videos.
Authorized Users shall not download or otherwise copy the streaming videos or audio contained in the Service.
Terms of use - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for libraries and educational institutions that provides access to over 20,000 documentaries and films. The collection is particularly strong in independent films.
Terms of use
- American Memory Online FilmsSeveral hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library's American Memory collections. Video clips can be downloaded or streamed from the website. Collections include Coca-Cola, New York City (1898-1906), Consumer Economy, America at Work (1894-1915), Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment (1870-1920).
- Black Film Archive"Black Film Archive celebrates the rich, abundant history of Black cinema. We are an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context."
- Comparative Japanese Film ArchiveTranscripts, audio and video of benshi film from the early 20th century. Cabinet of Caligari & Fall of the House of Usher.
- MovieClips.comOffers 12,000 free film clips from over 2,000 movies, all high-image-quality and sorted by actor, director, cinematographer, mood, prop, setting, composer, character type, and many more detailed options. The browse function works the best. Video clips can be embedded in webpages, facebook, twitter, and PowerPoint presentations for non-commercial purposes. This site provides easy, legal access to film clips.
- Moving Image ArchivePart of Archive.org. This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Images
- Getty ImagesSource of free stock and editorial photos of moderate quality. Follow the instructions for Embedding an image, check the "Show image preview" box, and then copy the image.
- Western Silent Films Lobby Card CollectionThe Western Silent Films Lobby Cards Collection consists of 106 printed items used to promote silent and western films; most of the materials in the collection date between 1910 and 1930. These lobby cards and publicity fliers include both photographic and artistic renderings of scenes and characters from the films being publicized, and often prominently display the names of actors and film studios.