Library Liaison
Alexandra Grimm
Contact:
Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
315-228-6592
Subjects: Art and Art History, Chinese, Classical Studies, CORE, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Jewish Studies, Languages Modern, LGBTQ Studies, Literature, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Romance Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Theater, Writing and Rhetoric
Looking for the full text?
- Journal Finder/Article LinkerWhen you already have a citation, but you need the full text of the article, you can click on this link to go directly to the Journal Finder/Article Linker. It's the same catalog of full-text journals Colgate has access to that's available from the front page of the library website.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use - Art Full Text with Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1929–present. Abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, covering subjects including archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, motion pictures, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, photography, and related fields. Includes over 250 full-text periodicals from 1997 on.
Terms of use - Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1929–1984. Find contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track the body of work of an artist or movement, find artists' interviews and other commentary, and much more
Terms of use - Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present. Articles and other materials on archaeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, film, TV & radio, folklore, history, language & linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, theater, and theology & religious studies. PART OF WEB OF SCIENCE; click on "More settings" to select Arts & Humanities only.
Terms of use - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Enables research in areas related to communication and mass media, incorporating the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields of study.
Terms of use - Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive bibliographic database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications related to film and television literature. This database includes extensive content for all applicable areas of film and television research.
Terms of use - Humanities & Social Science Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1907–1984. Allows search of a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Terms of use - International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 2008–present. IBA is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. Coverage prior to 2008 is provided by the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Terms of use - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over 1,000 leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use - Project Muse Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1995–present. Provides access to humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from a number of scholarly publishers. Colgate upgraded to the premium collection in 2019.
Terms of use - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1890–1982. Good source for indexing popular U.S. magazine such as Time, Life, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report. Extends coverage of Readers' Guide Abstracts to reflect the history of 20th-century America.
Terms of use
Google Scholar Search
Highlighted Resource: Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
New Online Collection:
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Proquest's Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive includes full-text searching and access for key trade newspapers in theater, film, broadcast media and music, among them the much-requested Variety. The database is primarily historical in focus; coverage extends to the year 2000.
Titles available in the database include: