Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News

News Resources

Colgate and Local Newspapers

Historical Regional Newspapers

Historical and Regional Newspapers with specific emphesis on titles held in Special Collections

NOTE: ALL MICROFILM IS AVAILABLE THROUGH LASR. Materials in Special Collections have limited hours and special regulations for use.

Please also see our Primary Source Chronology

Brookfield
Brookfield Courier
Case Microfilm: 1878-1935
Earlville
Earlville Standard
Case Microfilm: 1893-1928 (1929-1940 paper copy in Special Collections; too fragile for use)

Hamilton
Chenango Valley News (Hamilton, NY)
Case Special Collections: v. 1-7, no. 8 (1989-1995)

Democratic Reflector
Case Special Collections: 1843-46; 1853-1856

Democratic Republican
Case Microfilm: 1863-1868;1871-1884
Case Special Collections: 1863-1877

Hamilton Boy Scouts: Be Prepared
Case Special Collections  May, 1918

Hamilton Citizen
Case Special Collections  July 28, 1939

Hamilton Courier
Case Special Collections: 1834-1837

Hamilton Eagle
Case Special Collections: 1839-1840

Hamilton Gazette
Case Special Collections  May 23, 1816 (Photocopy)

Hamilton Palladium
Case Special Collections 1839-1843

Hamilton Republican
Case Special Collections: 1887-1947
Case Microfilm: 1887-1902

Hamilton Sentinel
Case Special Collections: 1834

Hamilton Sentinel
Case Special Collections: 1890-1894

Hamilton Tribune
Case Special Collections:  v. 7 no. [9]-v. 192, no. 27 (May 3, 1995-July 3-13, 1999)

Democratic Volunteer (Hamilton and Morrisville) Case Special Collections: 1866-1878

Madison County Journal
Case Special Collections  1850-1852  Scattered issues

Madison Farmer
Case Special Collections  1828-1829  Scattered issues

Madison County
Madison County Eagle (Cazenovia)
Case Special Collections: 1841-1843

Madison County Leader (Morrisville) and Leader Observer (Morrisville)
Special Collections: 1891-1947
Case Microfilm:  18 April 1907-Dec. 1946

The Voice of Madison County
Case Special Collections  v.1, no. 1, 1960- v.1, no. 2, Oct 31, 1960

Morrisville
Independent Vounteer/Democratic Volunteer

Case Special Collections 1860-1888
Madison County Gazette
Case Special Collections  July 31, 1817 (Photocopy)

Madison Observer (Morrisville)
Case Special Collections: 1822-23, 1835

Oneida Indian Nation
Oneida Indian Nation : [newsletter]
Case Journals: v. 4, no. 4, v. 7, nos. 3-5, 7-8, v. 8, nos. 2-8, nos. 10-11, and special issue (6/96); (Apr. 1993-Dec. 1997)
Poolville
Weekly Pioneer (Poolville)
Case Special Collections: 1879-1880
photocopies only
Syracuse
Syracuse Herald American
see Current Subscriptions/Post-Standard (Syracuse) for current paper issues Online: 1998--   available from Online
Waterville
Waterville Times
Case Microfilm: 1857-1864
Special Collections also has scattered issues of the following local newspapers, most dating from the late 19th and early 20th centuries: The Civilian, Common Sense, Democratic Union, Democratic Volunteer, The Midland New Yorker,  and The No-License Advocate

Other New York State Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers (Newsbank/Readex)
 contains many (though not all) of the microform titles listed below in a digital format plus many other titles
Constitutional Gazette (microfilm, on NY Chronicle reel)
Case Microfilm: 1775-1776
New York Journal
Case Microfilm: 1766-1776
Harper's Weekly
Case Special Collections: v. 1-62 (1857-1916)
Online:   1857-1865
New York Mercury
Case Microfilm: 1752-1768
Independent Journal
Case Microfilm: 1783-1788
New York Tribune
Case Microfilm 1859-1870
New York Chronicle
Case Microfilm: 1775-1776
New York Weekly Journal
Case Microfilm: 1733-1768
New York Evening Post
Case Microfilm  1875-1920
New York Times
Case Circulation Desk: current issues only
Case Microfilm:  1851-
New York Gazette
Case Microfilm: 1759-1767
Rivington's Royal Gazette
Case Microprint  1773-1783
New York Herald 
Case Microfilm 1857-1868
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
1841-1902

Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300