Questions?
Alexandra Grimm
Contact:
Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
315-228-6592
Subjects: Art and Art History, Chinese, Classical Studies, CORE, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Jewish Studies, Languages Modern, LGBTQ Studies, Literature, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Romance Languages and Literatures, Spanish, Theater, Writing and Rhetoric
Questions?
Best Bets
- Entertainment Industry Magazines This link opens in a new windowCovers 1880 - 2015. Includes Collections 1, 2, and 3 - Music, Radio and the Stage includes 15 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK and Film and Television - The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Terms of use - Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive bibliographic database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications related to film and television literature. This database includes extensive content for all applicable areas of film and television research.
Terms of use
- Schirmer encyclopedia of film [electronic resource]ONLINE Reference
Provides a comprehensive introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
Looking for the full text?
- Journal Finder/Article LinkerWhen you already have a citation, but you need the full text of the article, you can click on this link to go directly to the Journal Finder/Article Linker. It's the same catalog of full-text journals Colgate has access to that's available from the front page of the library website.
Browse Videos
Related Guides
Subject Headings
In the library catalog, books, videos and other materials are assigned Library of Congress (LC) subject headings based on their content. Here is a sample list of film-related subject headings, some of which pertain equally to books and videos (visual materials). When you view catalog records in the Library Catalog, these subject headings display as active links pointing to other items with the same subject.
This is not an exhaustive list of subject headings pertinent to film and media studies, but it should give you a sense of commonly used vocabulary and how subject headings are structured.
- Motion Pictures
- Film Criticism
- Animated Films
- Motion Picture Producers and Directors
- Cinematographers
- Film Genre
- Motion pictures and history
- Motion Pictures -- Italy
- Motion Pictures -- China
- Motion Pictures -- Russia
- Motion Pictures -- Soviet Union
- Motion Pictures -- Germany
- Motion Picture Industry
- Mass Media
- Documentary Films
- Motion Picture -- Music
- Journalism
- Blogs
- Podcasting
- Social Media
- Advertising