Local and Regional History
- Edward H. Stone photograph collection
Edward H. Stone (1875–1968) was the official Colgate photographer for nearly fifty years and also worked commercially in the town of Hamilton and its surrounds. The Edward H. Stone photograph collection (1890s–1950s) contains glass and film negatives, and photographic prints related to Colgate University including images of buildings, campus landscapes, student groups, athletics, faculty, and administrators. - Local and Regional Newspapers
Digitized editions of the Hamilton Republican from 1917 to 1920, the years of the Influenza pandemic.
University Archives
- Colgate University Student Newspapers
Digitized student newspapers from Colgate University, 1846-2015 - Colgate University Yearbooks (Salmagundi)
Colgate University's student yearbook, Salmagundi, from 1884 to 2015 - Colgate University Alumni Magazines
This collection contains digitized versions of Colgate University's alumni magazine, which has had many titles and formats over the years. The content generally includes news stories covering major events and changes on campus; feature stories on current students, faculty, and alumni; and updates on accomplishments and significant life events of alumni. - Queer Activism at Colgate Digital History Project
The Queer Activism at Colgate (QAC) digital history project includes the QAC digital timeline and oral history recordings with alumni, faculty, and staff. This material was collected and curated by students completing LGBT 220, Explorations in LGBTQ Studies, in Fall 2018, 2019, and 2020, with Research Assistants Mackenzie Harrison '22 and Jacob Licker'21, contributing additional materials. All of these students worked under the supervision of K G Valente, Professor of Mathematics and LGBTQ Studies, and were assisted by Sarah Keen, University Archivist and Head of Special Collections and University Archives. - Queer Activism at Colgate TimelineA timeline of queer activism at Colgate University. Part of the Queer Activism at Colgate Digital History Project.
- Colgate at 200 collectionDigitized images and documents relating to the University's 200-year history. Explore this collection as a complement to the Colgate at 200 Years website.
- Becoming Colgate: a bicentennial history
"a moving, vivid, and inspiring story of the college’s founding, its development over time, and its bonds with the village of Hamilton, the region of central New York, and the nation." - A History of Colgate University 1819-1969Howard D. Williams wrote this book on Colgate's history to mark the sesquicentennial anniversary of the school's founding. A digital exhibit version of the book can be found here: http://ltdi.colgate.edu/cuhist/
- Colgate University Web Archive, 2013-presentCollects, preserves, and makes accessible Colgate University community websites. To view versions of the Colgate University website prior to 2013, utilize the Internet Archive Wayback Machine.
- Film and video collectionDigitized versions of vintage film and video related to Colgate University's history, including promotional programs, recordings of events, documentaries, interviews with faculty and almuni, and raw footage.
Historical collections
- Modern Sketch (Shi Dai Man Hua)
This rare Chinese periodical, Modern Sketch (Shi Dai Man Hua) contains caricatures, cartoons, and humorous writing that defined the golden era of Shanghai’s comic art during the mid-1930’s. - Colgate University's cuneiform tablets48 cuneiform tablets, owned by Colgate University, and digitized and made available by the Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
