Library Liaison
Related Guides
English Dictionaries
-
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window2nd ed. with updates. A historical dictionary of English that aims to show not only the current meanings of words but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world.
Terms of use
-
Oxford Dictionary of English2010.This dictionary focuses on English as it is used today, informed by evidence and research from the Oxford English Corpus. It places the central and most frequent meanings of each word first, followed by secondary and technical senses, slang, idioms, and historical and archaic senses.
-
Garner's Modern English Usage2022. More than 2300 entries reflect the nuances of English usage not only in the United States, but in Australia and New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Canada, and South Africa.
-
Take My Word For It: A Dictionary of English Idioms2022. Includes more than one thousand idioms, both popular and obscure, occurring in both American and British standard English and including many regional expressions.
-
Oxford Dictionary of Idioms2020. This dictionary uncovers the meanings of myriad phrases and sayings that are used daily in the English language, encompassing more than 10,000 figurative expressions, similes, sayings, and proverbs.
-
The Routledge Dictionary of Pronunciation for Current English2017. Based on research by a joint UK and US team of linguistics experts, this is a unique survey of how English is really spoken in the twenty-first century.
English Slang Dictionaries
-
Green's Dictionary of Slang2011. Green’s Dictionary of Slang is an unprecedented 10.3 million-word collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language. Covering five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world, the Dictionary is the most authoritative, scholarly approach to slang ever attempted.
-
Stone the Crows: The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang2008. Drawing on the resources of the Oxford English Dictionary and offering coverage of over 6000 slang words and expressions from the Cockney 'abaht' to the American term 'zowie', 'Stone the Crows' is a lively and authoritative dictionary of slang from the 20th and 21st centuries.
-
The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English2013. Details the slang and unconventional English of the English-speaking world since 1945.
-
The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English2017. Covers post WW2 American Slang. The 25,000 entries are accompanied by citations that authenticate the words as well as offer examples of usage from popular literature, newspapers, magazines, movies, television shows, musical lyrics, and Internet user groups.
Print Dictionaries
-
Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged with CD-ROM
by
Call Number: CASE Reference; PE1625 .W36 2002ISBN: 0877793026Publication Date: 2002Nearly half a million entries provide standard and variant pronunciations, etymologies, comprehensive definitions, updated usage illustrations, and synonym articles. -
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
by
Call Number: CASE Main; PE1628 .A623 2000ISBN: 0395825172Publication Date: 2000This fourth edition has entries for over 10,000 new words reflecting the explosion of computer and Internet technology as well as popular culture and slang. -
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
by
Call Number: CASE Reference; PE1628 .M36 1993ISBN: 0877797080Publication Date: 1993 (10th ed.)Features concise definitions, clear pronunciations, illustrations, tables, cross-references, examples of contemporary word use, synonyms, and more. -
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
by
Call Number: CASE Reference; PE1625 .A54 1992ISBN: 9780395448953Publication Date: 1992 (3rd ed.)An illustrated English language dictionary with over 350,000 entries.
