Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music

Resources for Music research

Biographies

A biography is a work about an individual person that focuses on the personal aspects of the individual's life. Biographies may be found in books, articles, or dictionaries/directories. To find brief biographical information, start with the encyclopedias listed on the Home tab of this guide, or check our Biography Guide, which lists biographical directories and dictionaries

To find biographies in books, search the catalog by subject for musicians last names, or by a term describing names of places, organzations, types of persons, ethnic groups, or historic events combined with Biography, e.g. Musicians Biography. 

To find biographies in journals articles, search the databases recommended on the Articles tab of this guide.


J.S. Bach Home Page 
This comprehensive site includes pointers to listings of Bach's complete works, MIDI files of his recordings, and a calendar of upcoming Bach events.

Hector Berlioz website 
Maintained by M. Austin and M. Tayeb (British academics), includes biographical info, text and libretti, photos, bibliographies, and more. Can search entire site (Google).

Fryderyk Chopin: Life, Works, Traditions 
Maintained by the Frederic Chopin Society of Warsaw, this is a work in progress. Significant information already available.

Aaron Copland Collection 
From the Library of Congress American Memory Collections, the multiformat Aaron Copland Collection spans the years 1910 to 1990 and includes approximately 400,000 items documenting the multifaceted life of an extraordinary person who was composer, performer, teacher, writer, conductor, commentator, and administrator. It comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, awards, books, sound recordings, and motion pictures. The first release of the online collection contains approximately 1,000 items that yield a total of about 5,000 images. These items date from 1899 to 1981, with most from the 1920s through the 1950s, and were selected from Copland's music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.

FGHandel.org 
Jointly maintained by Brad Leissa and musicologist David Vickers, the site contains a discography, reviews of recent recordings, a bibliography of Handel scholarships, and a list of scholarly work in progress

International Mozarteum Foundation (Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum) 
Founded in Salzburg in 1880, the Foundation has 3 main areas of concern: organization of concerts, the Mozart museums, and academic research. The website includes a catalog of Mozart research, concert ticket information, and more. The Foundation also maintains the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe / Digital Mozart Edition online.

More biographies

To find brief biographical information, start with the encyclopedias listed on the Home tab of this guide, or check our Biography Guide, which lists biographical directories and dictionaries

To find biographies in books, search the catalog by subject for musicians last names, or by a term describing names of places, organzations, types of persons, ethnic groups, or historic events combined with Biography, e.g. Musicians Biography. 

To find biographies in journals articles, search the databases recommended on the Articles tab of this guide.
 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, Articles and Media


Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300