Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music

Resources for Music research

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are lists of materials about a topic or of specific types of materials. They can save you time in searching for information. Below are a few bibliographies. Others are available; search the libraries' catalog to find them.

Bach Bibliography 
Maintained by a Research Fellow at Queens University, Belfast, UK. A bibliography of more than 14,000 items, including new and forthcoming works.

Beethoven Bibliography 
A research project of the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies at San Jose State University, this database lists books and articles about Beethoven, and early editions of his scores. The database is searched using the same software as Colgate's online catalog.


Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology 
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Catalog only, not full text

More bibliographies

Find more bibliographies by searching the catalog for the topic, person, type of material of interest and including the words Bibliography or Bio-bibliography. Thematic catalogs are specialty bibliographies. They list "all" the works of a composer, not the different modern editions of the scores, and not information about the works


Colgate University Libraries | 13 Oak Drive, Hamilton, NY 13346 | 315-228-7300