Library Liaison
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Government Information
- Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: varies. Indexes the United States Congressional Serial set and other publications of the U.S. Congress, including committee prints and hearings, and the Congressional Record. The Serial Set (CU owns in paper) is a treasure-trove of historical materials about the country, including foreign relations. Also includes stories from the Washington Post, Roll Call, and The Hill; and links to hot bills/topics and other websites.
Terms of use - Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S. This link opens in a new windowThis collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans.
Terms of use
Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899 by Call Number: CASE Ref. E93 .J622 1977ISBN: 0883541076Publication Date: 2000-10-01This is a key index to documents about Native Americans published by Congress from 1817-1899. This information can be hard to find in ProQuest Congressional.
- American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899These documents contain contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory during the 19th century.
- Bureau of Indian AffairsThe United States has a unique legal and political relationship with Indian tribes and Alaska Native entities as provided by the Constitution of the United States, treaties, court decisions and Federal statutes. Within the government-to-government relationship, Indian Affairs provides services directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts to 566 Federally recognized tribes.
- The Law Library of Congress: Indigenous Law PortalGeneral resources for indigenous legal materials listed by region, state and tribe. Includes Research & reports, Congressional Reports, legal research guides, etc.
- Invasion of America Interactive Map - How the United States Took Over an Eighth of the WorldInteractive map connecting lands ceded and unceded to treaty documents, as well as tracing historical ancestral lands and current reservations.
Law Resources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies, generally 1980s-- . A multi-disciplinary database, with especially strong news, business and legal material.
Tutorial for searching specific publications in Nexis-Uni
Terms of use - HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception.
Terms of use
- Indigenous Law Web ArchiveThe Law Library collects and preserves primary law sources of indigenous nations, which are sovereign governments by treaty with the United States.
Finding Government Documents in Print
Colgate Libraries has a large number of government documents in print. You can browse general areas to identify resources, or search the catalog (note: not all documents in the print collection are catalogued).
Relevant agencies and SuDoc ranges:
- Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs. SuDoc: I 20.1: (Also in Case Main E93 .U71)
- Smithsonian Institute. Bureau of American Ethnology. SuDoc: SI 2.1: (many are in LASR restricted)
- Committee on Education & Labor (House). SuDoc: Y 4.ED8/1:
- Committee on Government Operations (House). SuDoc: Y 4.G74/7:
- Committee on Natural Resources (House). SuDoc: Y 4.IN8/14: and Y 4.R31/3:
- Select Committee on Children, Youth, & Families (House). SuDoc: Y 4.C43/2:
- Select Committee on Indian Affairs (Senate). SuDoc: Y 4.IN2/11:
- Indian Health Service. SuDoc: HE 20.9402: through HE 20.9423:
- Native American Administrator. SuDoc: HE 23.5002:
- Indian Affairs Bureau. SuDoc: I 20.2: through I 20.67:
- United States Commission on Civil Rights. SuDoc: CR 1.1: - 1.16:
- United States Congress. SuDoc: Y 1.1