Finding books
Three primary search tools will help you find books:
- Main search box on the library home page
- This tool searches a majority of all the Colgate Libraries resources
- Retrieves books, articles, and more
- After your initial search, limit to Book / eBook in the left side menu under Content Type
- Classic Catalog
- This tool searches books and media only
- Look for link to the Classic Catalog under the Research tab on library home page
- WorldCat
- This tool searches the catalogs of libraries all over the world (including Colgate's)
- Use the "My Loan" link in a book record to submit an interlibrary loan request for any book not included in the Colgate Libraries collections
- The link to the WorldCat database is located under the Research tab on the library home page
Dissertations & Conference Proceedings
Dissertations and theses, and conference papers and proceedings are sometimes considered to be grey literature, but separate search tools exist for these types of material. Dissertations and theses can be searched for through:
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsTheses and dissertations, free to find, free to use.
- British Library EThOSPretty complete collection of recent British dissertations and thesis, though not all are digitized, and there may be costs for digitization.
Disciplinary databases such as Sociological Abstracts Online and PsycInfo often have references for dissertations and conference papers but only rarely have the full text of such items.
Conference papers can be found through:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1989-present. Access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and/or Arts & Humantities Citation Index. This resource has broad multidisciplinary coverage of scholary articles. A feature which is somewhat unique to this resource is citation searching. Using an important historic reference - one can see the more recent articles which cited the key reference. Part of Web of Knowlege
Terms of use
