What is a Bibliography?
What is a Bibliography?
A list of books referred to in a scholarly work or a list of the books of a specific author or on a specific subject.
Why are Bibliographies useful?
Bibliographies give you an excellent place to start your own research by providing you an extensive list already vetted by scholars.
Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw
Bibliographies
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1920–present. A library of works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Includes literature journals and other criticism and reference sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Terms of use - John Milton: A Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1624–1799. Brings together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations.
Terms of use - World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1962–present. A searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide. World Shakespeare Bibliography was contained within Shakespeare Quarterly from 1950 to 1980.
Terms of use - Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowCovering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. This resource is a sub-section in the Literature Online (LION) database.
Terms of use - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1926–present. The essential database to search for scholarly material in the area of literature and language. Published by the Modern Language Association.
Terms of use
