Coverage: 1827–1862. A collection of African American newspapers containing a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, rich with firsthand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1690–1922. Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. (Formerly called Early American Newspapers, Series I through VII.)
Terms of use

Coverage: 1849–2010. This database offers full-text and full-image articles for Chicago Tribune dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1881–2010. This database offers full-text and full-image articles for the Los Angeles Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1851–three years ago. This database offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1889–fifteen years ago. This database offers full-text and full-image articles for the Wall Street Journal dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1843–four years ago. Includes full-text news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1785–2012. Search the full-text of the Times (London) Digital Archive. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1779–1963. Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Most of the content is pre-1923.
Terms of use

CRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, doctoral dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital research collections. The Center has special strength in publications and archives from many countries.
Terms of use