Chronology of Primary Source Databases
Click here to access a list of primary source databases arranged by chronological coverage.
Need help? Ask a Librarian
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Primary Sources by Historical Focus
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use - African Women`s Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1986-present. The database indexes books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.
Terms of use - Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969 The collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Terms of use - Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1420-1920. Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
Terms of use
- Project Gutenberg EbooksAmong Project Gutenberg's 46,000 free ebooks are early books about Africa.
- 16th- Early 20th Century Maps of AfricaThis site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University.
- Barbary Treaties 1786- 1836Translated transcriptions of treaties between the US and North African City-States.
- Africa Online Digital LibraryThe African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource.
- Images of Colonialism - HOLLIS Images (Harvard)Search "Images of Colonialism" and use facets on the right to limit your search to the Widener Library. Constituting a visual record of early European contacts with Asia and Africa, Widener Library’s Images of Colonialism Collection is a primary visual resource for historical and socio-cultural studies. Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection of more than 700 images offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated. The collection can also be used to draw contrasts between colonial attitudes among the French, British, German, and Dutch colonizers and the realities in the colonies.
- Internet African History SourcebookTranslated excerpts of important documents in African History.
- Guide to the Frederick Starr Liberian Research Collection 1792-1914Finding aid for a small collection of research materials. They cover the history of the American Colonization Society and Liberia from 1792 to 1914. The collection is divided into original documents and typed copies of original documents. Within each section, the papers are organized chronologically.
- Liberian LettersCollections of letters by former slaves who migrated to Liberia in the Nineteenth century.
- Uganda Christian University ArchivesYale University Divinity School Library has partnered with Uganda Christian University (UCU) to archive and preserve Christian records in Uganda and the region. The archives of the Church of Uganda date back to its foundation, in 1877, by the Church Missionary Society of the Church of England. They include records on the growth, general administration and development of the church; on institutions established by the church, such as, schools, hospitals, and bookshops; and on the church's relationship with the Church of England, the British government and other organizations.
- Voices from the Rwanda TribunalThe Voices from the Rwanda Tribunal collection contains 49 video interviews conducted with personnel from the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR). Collected in 2008, these interviews reveal the challenges of striving for justice and reconciliation after genocide.
- Kenya National Assembly Official Record (Hansard)The official records of the proceedings of the Legislative Council of the Colony and Protectorate of Kenya, the House of Representatives of the Government of Kenya and the National Assembly of the Republic of Kenya.
- The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960Assembled by the British collector Humphrey Winterton over about 30 years, the collection depicts the breadth of African experience; documents African life; European life in Africa in all its manifestations; and the African landscape, in particular as it changed over time. Included are photographs showing the building of East Africa’s railways, the growth of its urban centers and the development of European colonial administration. The photographs extensively document rural life as well as the travels and work of European colonial officials and private businessmen.
- Onitsha Market LiteratureOnitsha Market Literature consists of stories, plays, advice and moral discourses published primarily in the 1960s by local presses in the lively market town of Onitsha, an important commercial site in the Igbo-speaking region of southeastern Nigeria. Follow the KU Onitsha Collection link in the upper left.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use
- Digital South Asia LibraryThe Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
- Project Gutenberg EbooksProject Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsProvides English-language translations of broadcast transcripts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from countries around the world, including China.
- Resources for East Asian Language and ThoughtIncludes a section of English translations of six Chinese classics and some Buddhist texts. Compiled by Professor A. Charles Muller at University of Tokyo,
- Silk Road Narratives: A Collection of Historical TextsPart of our Silk Road Seattle Project is to make available interesting historical sources which may be used in teaching and learning about the Silk Road.
- Ming History English Translation Project|Translations (from Chinese to English) of portions of the Mingshi, or the Official History of the Ming Dynasty. The Mingshi was presented to the Qing throne in 1736 and published in 1739. Compiled from materials collected over the course of the Ming (1368translations (from Chinese to English) of portions of the Mingshi, or the Official History of the Ming Dynasty. -1644) and after, it contains valuable information on Ming government, society, and prominent individuals. Provided by UCSD
- Chinese Pamphlet Digitization ProjectPamphlets, picture books, and other propaganda issued during the early years of the People’s Republic between 1947 and 1954. This is the “street literature” of the revolution: comic books, leaflets, and other ephemera distributed to the general population of provincial cities and villages.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use
- Project Gutenberg EbooksProject Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
- National Archives of AustraliaDiscover our fascinating collection of more than 100 years of Australian Government records, documenting the history of individuals, communities, and the nation.
- Online Catalogue to the Public Records Office of VictoriaDigitised records and database indexes can be accessed online by clicking on the entries below. If you click on a link to digitised records you will be taken to a page where you can download a pdf of the digitised record.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use - Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the 1926.
Terms of use - Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940`s to present. A collection of declassified government documents, arranged into collections. Each collection, compiled by top scholars and experts, covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Terms of use - Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974-1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1974-1996. Translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from foreign countries. Series 1 through 6 have been released. They cover Africa, Asia, East Europe, Latin American, and the Middle East.
Terms of use - Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969 The collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Terms of use
International historical statistics : the Americas 1750-2005
Mitchell, B. R. (Brian R.)
Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007
Call Number: CASE Ref. HA175 .M55 2007
- Biblioteca AmericanaSpanish resource containing many books and other materials about Latin America.
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital CollectionHarvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries.They document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State.
- The Digital Library of the CaribbeanThe Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Project Gutenberg EbooksProject Gutenberg offers several early books covering Central and South America.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use
- European History Primary SourcesThe purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.
- Project Gutenberg EbooksProject Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
- EuropeanaEuropeana is the trusted source of cultural heritage brought to you by the Europeana Foundation and a large number of European cultural institutions, projects and partners. Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.
- European Cultural Heritage OnlineOnline links to digitized materials focusing on the history of science.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969 The collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Terms of use
- Biblioteca Digital HispanicaEnglish Resource - The Hispanic Digital Library is the digital library of the Biblioteca Nacional de España. It provides access to thousands of digitized documents, including books printed from the 15th to the 19th century, manuscripts, drawings, engravings, pamphlets, posters, photographs, maps, atlases, music scores, historic newspapers and magazines and audio recordings.
- Le Gazzette Bolognesi 1645- 1796Italian Source- Early Modern Italian newspaper published in Bologna 1645- 1796
- Biblioteca Nacional de PortugalDigitized collections at the National Library of Portugal included books, images and other materials.
- Anemi- Digital Library of Modern Greek StudiesAnemi Digital Library aims to provide simple and quick access to a rich collection of digitized material related to Modern Greek Studies. Apart from finding bibliographic information, the researcher can also browse the documents themselves in electronic form. Here you may find a great number of old and rare documents, as well as recent publications for which their creators allowed the digitization and free distribution over the Internet.
- Digital Library of SloveniaDigitized collections of the National and University Library of Slovenia include texts, photographs, multimedia and other sources.
- Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (digitale)Digitized collections of the central national library in Florence.
Eastern Europe: Slavic and Eastern European Resources
- Analytic Reports Produced by the Directorate of Intelligence on the Former Soviet Union DeclassifiedA digitized collection of declassified analytic documents on the former Soviet Union, produced by CIA's Directorate of Intelligence (DI) during 1951-1991 and released to the National Archives
- The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System OnlineThe digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s
- Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918-1922213 posters, placards, and broadsides comprising one of the largest assemblages of such posters outside of Russia.
- Seventeen Moments in Soviet HistorySeventeen Moments in Soviet History contains a rich archive of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English. Students, educators, and scholars will find fascinating materials about Soviet propaganda, politics, economics, society, crime, literature, art, dissidents and hundreds of other topics.
- National Digital Library of PolandThe National Digital Library Polona is created for all libraries and Internet users. Its mission is to enhance access to the digital collections of the National Library of Poland, including the most important editions of literature and scientific materials, historical documents, journals, graphics, photography, and maps. The main aim is to present Polish cultural heritage with its age-old tradition and achievements, as well as showing the abundance of the National Library's collections. (some English sources)
- Yiddish Sources: National Digital Library PolonaNational Digital Library POLONA presents a selection of most outstanding representatives of Yiddish literature written before World War II: poets, novelists, playwrights and pioneers in writing in that language.
- YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in PolandThis website presents highlights from YIVO’s archival collections on Polish Jewry before the Holocaust. It includes thousands of documents, posters, and photographs from the most significant Polish Jewish collections along with detailed finding aids, online exhibitions and media galleries, and two background essays. (For more on what is included on this website, see “What’s On This Website.”)
- Hungarian Electronic LibraryMore than 7000 documents and images related to Hungarian life and history. (Limited English content)
- Cold War International History ProjectThe Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources. It also seeks to transcend barriers of language, geography, and regional specialization to create new links among scholars interested in Cold War history.
Yevgeny Khaldei Photography Collection Located in the PIcker Gallery Collection
The Ukranian-born Jewish photographer Yevgeny Khaldei is credited with many iconic images of World War II. The Soviet news agency TASS assigned him to cover the Red Army’s operations in central Europe, the Potsdam conference, and the Nuremburg trials. Khaldei donated almost 100 photographs to Colgate students and faculty during his first visit to the United States in 1995.
Western and Northern European Sources
- Parliament Rolls of Medieval England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1272-1509. Reproduces the rolls of parliament, which were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I until the reign of Henry VII with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks.
Terms of use - Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1991-present. Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Terms of use - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1967-present. Providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles for subject areas including classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, and others.
Terms of use - Manchester Medieval Sources This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Contains hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history.
Terms of use - Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library of historical sources for the history of Britain and Ireland in the medieval and early modern periods to the late 18th century. The collection is principally from the major collections of governmental records of England, Scotland and Ireland published during the nineteenth century, such as the Calendar of Close Rolls, Calendar of Patent Rolls, and Calendars of State Papers, Domestic and Foreign.
Terms of use - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. . It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Terms of use
- The British National ArchivesIt is "the UK government's official archive, containing 1,000 years of history".[3] There are separate national archives in some of the devolved parts of the United Kingdom: the National Archives of Scotland holds government and private documents relating to Scotland and the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland holds records for Northern Ireland. The National ARchives was formerly four separate organisations: the Public Record Office, the Historical Manuscripts Commission, the Office of Public Sector Information (OPSI) and Her Majesty's Stationery Office (HMSO).
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
covers: 1478-1700. Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Includes text created by the Text Creation Project.
Terms of use - Cecil Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage: 1520-1668, from the birth of William Cecil, Lord Burghley, to the death of William Cecil, 2nd Earl of Salisbury. Because of the importance of the Cecils, the materials offer crucial insights into the events of early modern history, including the marriages of Henry VIII, through the reign of Elizabeth I and the clandestine plans to facilitate James I/VI's accession, upon her death. Also covered in detail are overseas occurrences and interactions with other powers. Among the major events in English foreign policy addressed by these documents are the Tudor reconquest of Ireland, the Anglo-Spanish War, the loss of Calais to the French, and the early settlement of America.
Terms of use - Parliament Rolls of Medieval England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1272-1509. Reproduces the rolls of parliament, which were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I until the reign of Henry VII with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks.
Terms of use - House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (Index) This link opens in a new windowDates of coverage: 1800-1900. The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of 19th century Britain, its Colonies and the wider world. They are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the history of the nineteenth century. As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. The division of papers into Bills, Reports of Committees, Reports of Commissioners, and Accounts and Papers reflects the various functions of parliament; legislative, quasi-judicial, inquisitorial and supervisory.
Terms of use - ARTFL This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Full text of works representing a broad range of use of the French language, including scholarly editions of literary works (12th - 20th centuries), as well as items from scientific and technical fields. Does not include the full text of ebooks - just allows searching of terms to locate them within the ebook and returns the section the term is located in
Terms of use
- The British National ArchivesIt is "the UK government's official archive, containing 1,000 years of history".[3] There are separate national archives in some of the devolved parts of the United Kingdom: the National Archives of Scotland holds government and private documents relating to Scotland and the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland holds records for Northern Ireland. The National ARchives was formerly four separate organisations: the Public Record Office, the Historical Manuscripts Commission, the Office of Public Sector Information (OPSI) and Her Majesty's Stationery Office (HMSO).
- Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 200 A.D. - 1216 A.D. This database contains the complete Patrologia Latina which comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. It also includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Text is in Latin.
Terms of use
- British documents on foreign affairsCall Number: Case Main JZ 632.B74 - JZ 632.B779871856- 1956 = Reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential (print only). A set of over 600 volumes of British government documents. Compilations of diplomatic reports, dispatches, and telegrams printed for limited circulation within the British government.
Part I: mid-19th Century to 1914
Series A: Russia (1859-1914)
Series B: The Near and Middle East (1856-1914)
Series C: North America (1837-1914)
Series D: Latin America (1845-1914)
Series E: Asia (1860-1914)
Series F: Europe (1848-1914)
Series G: Africa (1854-1914)
Part II: 1914-1939
Series A: The Soviet Union (1917-1939) - CU does not own
Series B: Turkey, Iran and the Middle East (1918-1939)
Series C: North America (1919-1939)
Series D: Latin America (1914-1939)
Series E: Asia (1914-1939)
Series F: Europe (1919-1939) - CU does not own
Series G: Africa (1914-1939)
Series H: The First World War (1914-1918) - CU does not own
Series I: The Paris Peace Conference of 1919 - CU does not own
Series J: The League of Nations
Series K: Economic Affairs and the Reform of the Foreign Office - CU does not own
Part III: 1940-1945
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland - CU does not own
Series B: The Middle East
Series C: North America
Series D: Latin America
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe - CU does not own
Series G: Africa
Series L: World War II and General - CU does not own
Part IV: 1946-1950
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland - CU does not own
Series B: The Near and Middle East
Series C: North America
Series D: Latin America
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe
Series G: Africa
Series M: International Organisations, Common-wealth Affairs, and General - CU does not own
Part V: 1951-
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland - CU does not own
Series B: The Near and Middle East
Series C: North America - CU does not own
Series D: Latin America
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe
Series G: Africa
Series M: International Organisations, Common-wealth Affairs, and General - CU does not own
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use
- Canada in the MakingThis site is about the history of Canada through the words of the men and women who shaped the nation. Built around the Government Documents collection of the Early Canadiana Online collection, it integrates narrative text with links to primary source texts.
- Canada's Digital Collections Archived at Libraries and Archives CanadaLibrary and Archives Canada’s (LAC) collection is the shared documentary heritage of all Canadians and spans the entire history of our country. The collection contains materials in all types of formats from across Canada and around the world that are of interest to Canadians.
- Achivo General de la NacionNational Archive of Mexico. In Spanish.
- Documents for the Study of American HistoryPrimary documents relating to American history.
- Digital National Security Archive1940`s to present. A collection of declassified government documents, arranged into collections. Each collection, compiled by top scholars and experts, covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969 The collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Terms of use
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use
- Women in World History Primary SourcesA collection of primary sources focusing on global women's history.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1991-present. Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Terms of use
- Women Working, 1870-1930Coverage: 1800-1930. Focuses on women\'s role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
- Transgender Archives- University of VictoriaThe University of Victoria has committed itself to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of transgender people. The UVic Archives have been actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations associated with transgender activism since 2007.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The interface allows searching of multiple full text primary source databases at the same time using a flexible, intuitive interface. Currently included within the index are Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Sabin Americana. 17th, 18th and 19th Century British Newspapers, Illustrated London News, Times of London, the Times Literary Supplement and Archives Unbound (300+ small primary source archives). Formerly called Artemis Primary Sources
Terms of use
- Milestone documents in world history : exploring the primary sources that shaped the worldMilestone Documents in World History is one of several full-text reference sets in a single database, the Salem History Collection.
- Expeditions and Discoveries: Harvard University Library Open Collections Programonline collections from Harvard University, Expeditions and Discoveries delivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-2000 - search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The interface allows searching of multiple full text primary source databases at the same time using a flexible, intuitive interface. Currently included within the index are Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Sabin Americana. 17th, 18th and 19th Century British Newspapers, Illustrated London News, Times of London, the Times Literary Supplement and Archives Unbound (300+ small primary source archives). Formerly called Artemis Primary Sources
Terms of use
- The Central Zionist ArchivesThe Central Zionist Archives in Jerusalem holds millions of documents and pictures that tell innumerable stories about individuals, and the joint story of a people, since the dream of a "Jewish state" was woven, via the settlement enterprise, the absorption of immigrants, the strengthening of the Jewish settlement in Palestine in preparation for the establishment of a future state and until the first years of the State of Israel.
|
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part V, From 1951 through 1956. Series B, Near and Middle East / general editors, Paul Preston and Michael Partridge ; editor, Bülent Gökay
Bethesda, MD : LexisNexis, 2005-
|
- Papyri.infoSearchable collection of thousands of papyri from pharonic Egypt to the Islamic Caliphate. (Some English translations.)
- The Middle East in Early Prints and PhotographsSeveral thousand prints and photographs contained in works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century. These include books illustrated with prints or photographs, photograph albums, and archival compilations; the processes represented range from engravings to lithographs, and from salt prints to heliogravures.
- Travelers in the Middle East ArchiveThe Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, and historical maps of Egypt and Cyprus.