An index of American art web resources from museums, archives, libraries, and scholarly associations.

A freely available resource, this site features eight units, each of which explores a different theme in Italian Renaissance art. Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 300 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts. An invaluable tool for use in the classroom, educators can integrate printable activity guides and discussion questions related to each unit into their course work. This resource is a collaboration between the National Gallery of Art, Washington and Grove Art Online, made possible by the generous support of the Samuel H. Kress Foundation.

The Allgemeines Kunsterlexikon is the world's most contemporary, reliable and extensive reference work on artists. It contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than 1 million artists - more than any other database in the world!

CASE Ref. G1046.E64 S7 1992

Art meets geography more or less chronologically. The source presents the course of art history with brief topical essays and some 150 maps. Superimposed upon plain base maps (shortlines and rivers only, with too few key maps of the physical landscape) are a great variety of colors and geometric symbols relating to an artistic topic, time, and place. Many of the historical subjects covered are obvious ones, like the medieval pilgrimage routes and the expansion of Alexander the Great's empire. Others are quite novel and demonstrate the keen descriptive power of maps: the travels of individual masters during the Ren-aissance, for instance, and the widespread sources of raw materials in antiquity.

An online bibliographic dictionary of historic scholars, museum professionals, and distinguished academic historians of art.

2009 ed. Offers the most current and comprehensive scholarly information on the visual arts of the Renaissance in Northern Europe. Unparalleled in scope and depth, covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. Featuring rich and engaging articles on artists, artisans, patrons, painting, architecture, sculpture, cities, centres of production, theory, criticism, and more.

2007 ed. A current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.

2007 ed. The first encyclopedia to look at the study of material culture (objects, images, spaces technology, production, and consumption), and what it reveals about historical and contemporary life in the United States.

An online encyclopedia of artists and art movements