Need help?
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
Getting Started
Encyclopedias are a great place to start, because they give high quality summaries of information on a topic. Also try some of the General Journal Article Databases to do a quick, broad search.
The big search box on the libraries homepage will search through articles, books, films, and many other resources, which can also help you get started, or use the searchbox below.
Best Bets
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides students, scholars, and librarians with more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes: Africana, an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes; the new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895, which documents the full range of the African American experience; the African American National Biography; and Black Women in America, as well as primary source materials.
Terms of use - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use
