Library Liaison
Peter Tagtmeyer
Contact:
ptagtmeyer@colgate.edu
Cooley Science Library
McGregory Hall
Cooley Science Library
McGregory Hall
1-315-228-7402
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF31.R625 1998ISBN: 0313304602Publication Date: 1998-10-30
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF1.T48 1994ISBN: 1557982252Publication Date: 1994-01-01
- The Concise Dictionary of Psychologyby David A. Statt
- Dictionary of Psychology and Allied Sciencesby M.S. Bhatia
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF31.E5 1994ISBN: 0122269209Publication Date: 1994-04-18
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: BF31 .E52 1994ISBN: 0471558192Publication Date: 1994-03-01This work provides overviews of topics, theories, and important researchers in all fields of psychology, with references for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Call Number: CASE Ref. HM1007.E53 2007ISBN: 9781412916707Publication Date: 2007-08-29
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science, Psychology by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF31.M33 2003ISBN: 1587651300Publication Date: 2003-01-01
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology2006 ed. Cverview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States, includes contributions from the areas of social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.
Handbooks
Handbook of Psychology, 12 Volume Set by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF121.H1955 2003ISBN: 0471176699Publication Date: 2003-01-09This twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the discipline of psychology and is representative of the most current knowledge in the field. Leading national and international scholars have collaborated under the guidance of recognized expert editors to produce each volume, with chapters ranging from the established theories to the most modern research and developments.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF31.O94 2004ISBN: 0198662246Publication Date: 2004-12-03
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology by Call Number: COOLEY Ref. BF181.H336 2002ISBN: 0471443336Publication Date: 2002-03-07This reference work is an indispensable guide for researchers, students, and academics working in the fields of psychology, behavioral science, neuroscience and medicine. This edition has been expanded by over 50% to reflect the explosion of research in neuroscience and experimental psychology.
Websites
- AllPsych OnlineAllPsych Online is one of the largest and most comprehensive psychology websites on the Internet. Inside the site you`ll find over over 920 individual, cross referenced, web pages and an estimated 3000 pages of printed material.
- American Psychological AssociationThe APA's 'Library Research in Psychology' page provides resource links to fact sheets, databases and scholarly articles related to various psychological topics.
- Science.govScience.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific Websites (see Science.gov fact sheet).
- Social Psychology NetworkSocial Psychology Network (SPN) is an educational organization with over 14,000 members worldwide. The mission of Social Psychology Network is to promote peace, social justice, and sustainable living through public education, research, and the advancement of psychology.