2004 ed. Emphasizes people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia, also covering Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.
2005 ed. Surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. Also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras.
2002 ed. Presents articles on food and its place in human culture and society, including entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.
2009 ed. Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
Detroit: UXL, 2004
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their use. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and society beliefs.
2003 ed. Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics in marriage and family issues such as adolescent parenthood, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, and commuter marriages. Also examines the history of family life within different cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
CASE Reference PN2035 .O94 2003
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003
Covers theater and performance from ancient Greece to the latest developments around the globe. Also covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions. Entries range from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres and movements, such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism. Entries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.
2008 ed. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is a definitive reference work in the field.
Web Japan is sponsored by the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) and operated by a Japanese non government organization. The site provides highly reliable information on Japan across many different genres including culture, sightseeing, society, history and nature. The content is provided primarily in English. Includes links to current governmental information.
invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist authors and activists, women’s non-governmental organizations, and key texts, events and legislation that have either enhanced or curtailed women’s rights