This is a reference tool designed to guide the reader through all the aspects of a discipline that is core science and providing a knowledge base for a large number of other disciplines. Showing the myriad of ways in which chemistry plays a role (both seen and unseen) in our daily lives, this work also makes the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader. are also entries providing scientific, commercial and career information. This work not only details the basic underlying scientific principles of the field, but also relates the subject matter to the reader through examples.

This work offers readers an overview of the broad spectrum of general chemistry. It provides a basic understanding of matter, the processes it undergoes, the principles that govern it and scientists who have been critical in the development of the field. Ninety-five biographical articles deal with prominent chemists, while other articles provide additional historical context, particularly with respect to 18th, 19th and 20th-century developments.

Examines the six major areas of inorganic chemistry: physical and theoretical methods, organometallic chemistry, main group elements, solid state chemistry, transition metals and bioinorganic chemistry. Provides in-depth coverage for each of the 260 main articles. Contains comprehensive cross-referencing as well as lists of related articles for further reading. Extensively illustrated, it provides an introduction to each article, making the encyclopedia easy to use.

Contains some 4,500 entries and about 1,000 figures, formulas, and tables. Entries include citations of recent literature. This third edition offers many new entries reflecting advances in the understanding of molecular and cell biology, metabolic pathways, and the determination of macromolecular structure.

This reference contains a systematic description of the use of all reagents in organic chemistry. It includes approximately 3500 alphabetically arranged articles, a comparison of reagents with others capable of similar chemistry, a pro and con assessment for each reagent, extensive cross-referencing and substantial subject and molecular formula indexes.

The Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is built on the solid foundation of the previous editions. All of the articles have been rewritten and updated and many new subjects have been added to reflect changes in chemical technology through the 1970s. The new edition, however, will be familiar to users of the earlier editions: comprehensive, authoritative, accessible, lucid. The Encyclopedia remains an indispensable information source for all producers and users of chemical products and materials. In the Third Edition emphasis is given to major present-day topics of concern to all chemists, scientists, and engineers--energy, health, safety, toxicology, and new materials. New subjects have been added, especially those related to polymer and plastics technology, fuels and energy, inorganic and solid-state chemistry, composite materials, coating, fermentation and enzymes, pharmaceuticals, surfactant technology, fibers and textiles. New features include the use of SI units as well as English units, Chemical Abstracts Service's Registry Numbers, and complete indexing based on automated retrieval from a machine-readable composition system.

This dictionary of organic compounds should be of interest to chemists, biochemists, biologists and pharmacologists working within academic, industrial or governmental organizations.

A companion volume to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, this work compiles information from disparate sources to create a guide to the principles and practices of organic chemistry. This compact volume includes a variety of facts organic chemists need but often find difficult to locate in other references. This text also provides access to the many facts and methods that comprise the science of organic chemistry.

Contains every manner of tables, units, abbreviations, acronyms, symbols and more relevant to chemistry.