Articles
- Search the Big Search Box!This is a great place to start. Search across several hundred journals, books, DVDs, and government documents to get some general information on your topic.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high-quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Terms of use - ERIC This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1966–present. The Educational Resource Information Center contains citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals and ERIC documents (on microfiche and online).
Terms of use - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1975–present (with selected older titles). A multi-disciplinary database with significant full-text. Covers information in nearly every area of academic study. Indexes 13,600 journals—4,700 in full text (of which 3,900 are peer-reviewed).
Terms of use - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Includes over 1,000 leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. For most JSTOR titles, the most recent years of publication are not covered. If you want the most recent scholarship on a topic, you should probably try another database. However, current issues for selected journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Terms of use
Suggested Subject Headings
Subject Headings vs. Keywords
Subject headings are very specific to a particular set of databases, or library catalogues. They are part of a controlled vocabulary, where a term is only used in a subject heading when the item is specifically about that term. Usually a person has assigned these terms based on their knowledge of what's in the book. For example, books with "Marriage" in their subject heading are mainly and specifically on the topic of Marriage.
Keywords are simply words that can appear anywhere in the title, subject heading, abstract or even full text of the article. If you search Marriage as a keyword, then you can locate books that mention marriage on a single page, or have a short chapter addressing Marriage.
Subject headings can narrow your search if your results are too broad. You can also combine keywords and subject headings in the advanced search in any database to narrow or broaden your results.