Library Liaison
Digital Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference books from Oxford University Press, which can be searched as a collection.
Terms of use - Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. The online version of the Europa World Year Book, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Terms of use
- Aztecs: New Perspectives2005 ed. This volume looks at the essential elements in the Aztecs` rise, fall, and enduring influence.
- Countries & Their Cultures2001 ed. Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
- Cuba2011 ed. Cuba is a full-color reference work that goes beyond a mere presentation of facts, biographies and "ready reference." Instead, this unique set offers deep interpretation. Cuba includes 28 surveys (articles grouped together under a common topic) and more than 150 "counterpoints" (focused articles on works of art and literature, political documents, speeches, testimonies, flashpoint events and places of cultural significance.) The impressive contributor list is evenly divided between the top U.S. academics in the field of Cuban studies and Cuban scholars still living on the island, providing a unique "360-degree view" of the country and its diaspora. Cuba presents the major forces that have shaped the country both historically and culturally.
- Cuba: a Global Studies Handbook2007 ed. A guided tour of the island of Cuba`s historical, political, economic, and sociocultural development from the pre-Columbian period to the present.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture2008 ed. Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures1996 ed. Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. It is the one of the primary resources for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on most cultures.
- Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology2000 ed. An introduction to the myths of Mesoamerica from ancient times to the present.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures2001 ed. A comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
- Peoples of the Caribbean: an Encyclopedia of Archaeology and Traditional Culture2005 ed. A comprehensive guide to the archaeology and traditional culture of the Caribbean.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides students, scholars, and librarians with more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes: Africana, an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes; the new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895, which documents the full range of the African American experience; the African American National Biography; and Black Women in America, as well as primary source materials.
Terms of use
- African American Religious Cultures2009 ed. This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive presentatino on the diversity and richness of religious practices among African Americans, from traditions predating the era of the transatlantic slave trade to contemporary religious movements.
- Black America: a state-by-state historical encyclopediaBlack Americans have played an invaluable role in creating our great nation in myriad ways, including their physical contributions and labor during the slavery era; intellectually, spiritually, and politically; in service to our country in military duty; and in areas of popular culture such as music, art, sports, and entertainment. The chapters extend chronologically from the colonial period to the present.
- BlackPast"This reference center with 7,514 posts is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. We invite you to explore and use all the resources of BlackPast."
- Civil Rights Movement: People and Perspectives2009 ed. This work documents the importance of the civil rights movement and its lasting impression on American society and culture.
- Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history [electronic resource] : the Black experience in the AmericasCovers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to 2006.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage1992 ed. Facts of File, PDF download. Biographical. "This volume provides thorough yet succinct information about Africans who remained on the continent as well as those in the diaspora. The author concentrates most of her attention on indigenous Africans and blacks in the United States but also includes information about descendants of the African motherland who were involuntary and voluntary immigrants to the Caribbean, Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Although most of the individuals described herein were intellectual, political, military, scientific, or educational leaders, the author also gives careful attention to musicians, artists, literary figures, and athletes."
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies"More than a chronicle of black culture or black people, this encyclopedia deals with the emergence and maturity of an intellectual field over the past four decades. Beginning with the protests at San Francisco State College in 1967 that led to the first degree-granting department of Black Studies, the field's rapid growth over time necessitates an authoritative account of the discipline."