Library Liaison
Lynne Kvinnesland
Contact:
lkvinnesland@colgate.edu
Case Library
Rm 315
Case Library
Rm 315
315-228-6661
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Caribbean Studies, CORE, Economics, Education, Geography, History, United States, History, World, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American Studies, News, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Science, Sociology
What is a Primary Source?
Primary Sources are generally defined as a document or object which was created during the time under study. Since these resources were present during this specific time period, they can offer an inside view of a particular event.
Examples of primary sources include -
-
a first-hand account by a participant or observer close to the time of the event, as reported in an article, diary, journal, speech, interview, letter, e-mail, memorandum, or autobiography
-
an original work of art or literature
-
visual images and/or audio recordings of an event
-
old maps
-
original research or raw data, including public opinion polls
-
a government document that is produced in the normal course of governing (a law, congressional hearing, treaty, regulation or court decision) and those that record an event (birth certificate), report data collected by the government (the census), or confer a right (a permit, license or patent).
-
records produced by organizations in the normal course of doing business
-
a laboratory report or field observation, including an ethnography
-
artifacts of any kind
Primary Sources
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1500–2000. Search all of the Adam Matthew primary source databases with a single interface. Result counts are shown for each collection and may be filtered by the individual collection.
Terms of use - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The interface allows searching of multiple full-text primary source databases at the same time using a flexible, intuitive interface. Currently included within the index are Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Sabin Americana; 17th, 18th and 19th Century British Newspapers; Illustrated London News; Times of London; the Times Literary Supplement; and Archives Unbound (300+ small primary source archives). Formerly called Artemis Primary Sources.
Terms of use - Archives Direct: Sources from the National Archives UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives Direct is a suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew—the UK government's official archive. Each self-contained collection is clustered in a portal for ease of cross-searching and browsing and have been added to LibGuides.
Terms of use - Jerusalem Post Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s top English-language daily newspaper covering Israel, the Middle East, and the Jewish World. Founded in 1932 by Gershon Agron as the Palestine Post, the publication supported the struggle for a Jewish homeland in Palestine and openly opposed British policy restricting Jewish immigration during the Mandate period. In 1950, two years after the State of Israel was declared, the paper was renamed the Jerusalem Post.
Terms of use - Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974–1996 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1974–1996. Translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from foreign countries. Series 1 through 6 have been released. They cover Africa, Asia, East Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East.
Terms of use - New York Times - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1851–three years ago. This database offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of use
- Digital National Security Archive1940's to present. A collection of declassified government documents, arranged into collections. Each collection, compiled by top scholars and experts, covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
- Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917–1970 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970–1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.
Terms of use
- Arabic Newspapers of Ottoman and Mandatory PalestineDigitized Arabic newspapers from 1908-1948 from the National Library of Israel
- Associated Press US Cities and Middle Eastern Bureaus Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The US Cities Bureaus collection is a post-World War II collection consisting primarily of wire copy, as well as correspondence and newsletters, covering a broad segment of American political and social history.
The Middle East Bureaus Collection (1967–2005) contains wire copy (original news reports) in both English and Arabic and includes information on conflicts in the area, particularly the Lebanese Civil War (1975–90), the 1967 Arab-Israeli War (The Six Day War), and the U.S. war in Iraq (2003). Additional subjects include Islam, the Persian Gulf War (1991), Kurds, elections, and international relations.
Terms of use - Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1492–1969. The collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires, from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others right through to decolonization in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American imperialism.
Terms of use - Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1420–1920. Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
Terms of use - Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1820–1970. Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt, and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Each self-contained collection is clustered in a portal for ease of cross-searching and browsing or can be searched as part of the Archives Direct collection.
Terms of use - Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1971–1981. A collection of Foreign Office files for the Middle East. Each self-contained collection is clustered in a portal for ease of cross-searching and browsing or can be searched as part of the Archives Direct collection.
Terms of use
Islamic Movements in the Arab World, 1913-1966 by Call Number: BP173.7 .I869 1998ISBN: 9781852078003Publication Date: 1998-04-30This set examines the progression of pan-Islamic organisations, movements and activists extant in the Arab states in the early twentieth century, particularly in the Hijaz (Saudi Arabia), Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Yemen and most of the Maghreb states, together with the involvement of Islamic institutions in regularising and interceding in aspects of both religious and secular life.
The Zionist Movement and the Foundation of Israel, 1839-1950 by Call Number: DS149 .Z677 2004ISBN: 1840970502Publication Date: 2004-01-01These volumes draw together documents found in the British National Archives to trace the origins and development of the Zionist movement in the 19th and 20th centuries, with specific reference to the goal of establishing a Jewish homeland.
Jewish communities in Arab Countries 1841-1974 Minorities in the Middle East by Call Number: DS135.A68 M56 2005ISBN: 1840971207Publication Date: 2005-05-31Covers Jews living in the Ottoman Empire, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iraq, Kuwait, Yemen, Egypt, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya
Political Diaries of the Arab World by Call Number: DS125 .P55 2001ISBN: 1852077352Publication Date: 2001-03-31The various different types of report gathered together in this collection capture in great detail the convulsions wrought within the old land area of Palestine by the agreements at the end of the World War I, in particular the Balfour Declaration of 2 November 1917; the Anglo-French Declaration of 7 November 1918 and the recommendations of the King-Crane Commission of 28 August 1919
Islam Political Impact 1908-1972 by Call Number: BP173.7 .R43 2004ISBN: 9781840970708Publication Date: 2004-04-30This work presents a documentary survey of the impact of Islam in the early and mid twentieth century with particular reference to its political and international dimensions.
Israel Boundary Disputes with Arab Neighbours 1946–1964 by Call Number: DS119.7 .I823 1995ISBN: 9781852076306Publication Date: 1995-10-24This collection of primary source documents focuses on the great diplomatic and territorial problems of the period including: the 1947 United Nations Partition Plan; the positions of Israel and Jordan regarding the West Bank and Gaza; the relationship of the refugee problem to the border problem; territorial adjustments for the benefit of Arab frontier villages; implications of the armistice lines for border settlements; and Soviet interest and alliances and Great Power conflict.- British documents on foreign affairsCall Number: Case Main JZ 632.B74 - JZ 632.B779871856- 1956 = Reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential (print only). A set of over 600 volumes of British government documents. Compilations of diplomatic reports, dispatches, and telegrams printed for limited circulation within the British government.
Part I: mid-19th Century to 1914
Series A: Russia (1859-1914)
Series B: The Near and Middle East (1856-1914)
Series C: North America (1837-1914)
Series D: Latin America (1845-1914)
Series E: Asia (1860-1914)
Series F: Europe (1848-1914)
Series G: Africa (1854-1914)
Part II: 1914-1939
Series A: The Soviet Union (1917-1939) - CU does not own
Series B: Turkey, Iran and the Middle East (1918-1939)
Series C: North America (1919-1939)
Series D: Latin America (1914-1939)
Series E: Asia (1914-1939)
Series F: Europe (1919-1939) - CU does not own
Series G: Africa (1914-1939)
Series H: The First World War (1914-1918) - CU does not own
Series I: The Paris Peace Conference of 1919 - CU does not own
Series J: The League of Nations
Series K: Economic Affairs and the Reform of the Foreign Office - CU does not own
Part III: 1940-1945
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland - CU does not own
Series B: The Middle East
Series C: North America
Series D: Latin America
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe - CU does not own
Series G: Africa
Series L: World War II and General - CU does not own
Part IV: 1946-1950
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland - CU does not own
Series B: The Near and Middle East
Series C: North America
Series D: Latin America
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe
Series G: Africa
Series M: International Organisations, Common-wealth Affairs, and General - CU does not own
Part V: 1951-
Series A: The Soviet Union and Finland - CU does not own
Series B: The Near and Middle East
Series C: North America - CU does not own
Series D: Latin America
Series E: Asia
Series F: Europe
Series G: Africa
Series M: International Organisations, Common-wealth Affairs, and General - CU does not own
- Manar al-Athar free image resource for Middle Eastern StudiesFree images related to the study of the Middle East, made available by University of Oxford. It provides high resolution, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication.
Primary source databases - by date
- Primary source database - by datea visual representation of primary source databases and their dates of coverage