Lets you search for multiple EPA databases for a specified geography, such as a county.

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) data are reported by certain industrial and federal facilities. EPA makes these data available through multiple online tools, many of which add context to help make the reported data more understandable.

The ECOTOXicology database (ECOTOX) is a source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife. ECOTOX was created and is maintained by the U.S.EPA, Office of Research and Development (ORD) , and the National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory\'s (NHEERL\'s) Mid-Continent Ecology Division (MED). ECOTOX integrates three previously independent databases - AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX - into a unique system which includes toxicity data derived predominately from the peer-reviewed literature, for aquatic life, terrestrial plants, and terrestrial wildlife, respectively.

A continually updated list of Superfund sites and their status kept by the EPA.

This database links over 7,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

NGDC provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth`s sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space.

From the UN Environmental Program, search for data sets of the type "national" and then see what data is available for the country in which you are interested.

From the US Energy Information Administration.

Recognizing that transparency and accountability are essential to development, the World Bank Group provides free access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years. The data is available in Arabic, French, and Spanish in addition to English.

UNdata is the United Nations Data Access System which provides access to current, relevant and reliable statistics. Some data goes back 60 years. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. UNdata also has links to a very large number of national data and statistics organizations and agencies.

Which neighborhoods in America offer children the best chance to rise out of poverty?

The Opportunity Atlas answers this question using anonymous data following 20 million Americans from childhood to their mid-30s.

Now you can trace the roots of today's affluence and poverty back to the neighborhoods where people grew up.