GLOSS (Global Language Online Support System) 
Resources from the Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center for learning to read and speak in a variety of languages. Searchable lesson materials for self-study at all levels.

Modern Chinese Literature and Culture Resource Center 
This resource center contains, among other things, bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film, art, music, and culture. Published in conjunction with Ohio State University and the journal Modern Chinese Literature and Culture.

Perapera.org 
Firefox and Google Chrome extensions that allow for a pop-up dictionary. Put your mouse over any Chinese or Japanese word, and it gives you the pronunciation and definition. 

Pinyin Learning Tools 
Each pinyin syllable in Chinese can have 4 possible ways to pronouce by varying the pitch/tone. This website comes with Audio files, games and tonal study guides to help you learn pinyin. Also includes Pinyin Pro, which will compare your pronunciation to the model sound. 

Pinyin Practice 
Website with online study materials and quizes for practicing pronunciation. 

YellowBridge Chinese Language & Culture 
Includes dictionary, online flash cards for language learning, Chinese fonts, games, and ebooks with side-by-side translation. Many resources for improving your reading skills. Flash cards include Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced sections. 

Visualizing Cultures (MIT) 
Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. Images of every sort are introduced and examined here—in partnership with contributing institutions and collections, and with the collaboration of experts devoted to transcending the printed word and hard-bound text.