A digital library of historical sources for the history of Britain and Ireland in the medieval and early modern periods to the late 18th century. The collection is principally from the major collections of governmental records of England, Scotland, and Ireland published during the 19th century, such as the Calendar of Close Rolls, Calendar of Patent Rolls, and Calendars of State Papers, Domestic and Foreign.
Terms of use

The Bayeux Tapestry is an 11th-century textile account of the Norman Conquest and the Battle of Hastings, over 230 feet in length and just 20 inches high. The Bayeux Tapestry Digital Edition represents an attempt to create a type of docuverse of the Bayeux Tapestry, wherein all matter related to the work may be applied and accessed. This edition contains complete copies of three early facsimiles of the Bayeux Tapestry: the 1730 Montfaucon engravings, the 1820 Stothard colored engravings, and the 1886 Reading Embroidery. All may be found under the "Facsimile" menu under the Tapestry display. Basic information about these facsimiles is presented here; consult each individual reproduction for more information and a basic bibliography.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1520–1668, from the birth of William Cecil, Lord Burghley, to the death of William Cecil, 2nd Earl of Salisbury. Because of the importance of the Cecils, the materials offer crucial insights into the events of early modern history, including the marriages of Henry VIII through the reign of Elizabeth I and the clandestine plans to facilitate James I/VI's accession, upon her death. Also covered in detail are overseas occurrences and interactions with other powers. Among the major events in English foreign policy addressed by these documents are the Tudor reconquest of Ireland, the Anglo-Spanish War, the loss of Calais to the French, and the early settlement of America.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1478–1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700—from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Includes text created by the Text Creation Project.
Terms of use

Coverage: varies. Contains hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history.
Terms of use

Coverage: 1272–1509. Reproduces the rolls of parliament, which were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament, from the reign of Edward I until the reign of Henry VII with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks.
Terms of use

Coverage: 200–1216. This database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, which comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. It also includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, and indexes. Text is in Latin.
Terms of use

A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Brown University Women Writers Project. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. It includes Renaissance Women Online, which is comprised of over 100 texts.
Terms of use