Questions?
Rebecca Leonhard
She, Her, Hers
Contact:
Outreach and Engagement Librarian
Liaison to University Studies and Arts and Humanities
Assistant Professor in the University Libraries
Colgate University
Office 310, Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
Liaison to University Studies and Arts and Humanities
Assistant Professor in the University Libraries
Colgate University
Office 310, Case-Geyer Library
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
315-228-6449
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Asian Studies, Environmental Studies, Film and Media Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Linguistics, Medicine & Health, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Museum Studies, Native American Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies, Russian and Eurasian Studies, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Writing and Rhetoric
Online Architecture Encyclopedias
-
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture2021. Covers every period of Western architectural history. The text is complemented by over 250 line drawings and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. Formerly known as Grove Art Online. Provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Also offers thumbnail art images, line drawings, and extensive image links.
5 simultaneous users
Terms of use
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture2007 ed. A current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.
-
The Oxford Companion to Architecture2009. Covers all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. It is particularly strong in its coverage of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture.
-
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture2006. Entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history.
-
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture2009. Covers all aspects of Islamic art and architecture from the Middle East and Africa to Central and South East Asia.
-
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture2012. Covers of all aspects of art and architecture from medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century.
Print Architecture Encyclopedias
-
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture
by
Call Number: CASE Main ; NA31 .C87 2015ISBN: 9780199674985Publication Date: 2015Contains over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger. Covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. -
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
by
Call Number: CASE Main ; N5610 .G76 2007ISBN: 9780195300826Publication Date: 2007Includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. -
Renaissance Art and Architecture
by
Call Number: CASE Main ; N6370 .C32 2004ISBN: 9780198609858Publication Date: 2004Illustrated throughout, Renaissance Art and Architecture provides the reader with an informative overview of this fascinating period and comprehensive, alphabetically arranged entries on individual artists, architects and theorists, Schools, styles, techniques, and terms. -
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, Third Edition
by
Call Number: CASE Main ; NA31 .B83 2012ISBN: 9780071772938Publication Date: 2012Revised and expanded, the Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, 3rd edition, features 8,000 definitions, 4,000 illustrations, and biographies of hundreds of architects accompanied by classic examples of their work. -
Architecture and Ornament
by
Call Number: CASE Reference ; NA2840 .M36 1998ISBN: 0786403837Publication Date: 1998For architects, historians, preservationists, students or homeowners, this richly illustrated two-part dictionary makes it easy to identify a specific architectural detail even if you have no idea what the technical term for it is. -
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
by
Call Number: CASE Main ; NA680 .E495 2004ISBN: 1579582435Publication Date: 2004Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. -
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture
by
Call Number: CASE Main ; NA215 .A74813 2003ISBN: 0691114889Publication Date: 2003The definitive reference on the diverse monuments built by the ancient Egyptians across three millennia, this generously illustrated volume surveys the ancient world's most remarkable architecture. -
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
by
Call Number: CASE Reference ; N7830 .M87 1996ISBN: 0198661657Publication Date: 1996Richly illustrated and with a Glossary of Architectural Terms and an extensive Bibliography, the Companion combines important general essays on the periods and styles important in the history of Christian art with hundreds of shorter entries that describe specific works, artists, themes, and visual images and which give the reader practical guidance on where in Europe to locate the works described.
