This work contains over 11,000 entries. The coverage cuts across classical disciplines (botany, zoology, bacteriology, mineralogy, palaeontology, etc.), focusing particularly on concepts, strategies and methodologies. New information in the book reflects major scientific developments, hence special attention is given to terminology relating to molecular techniques and to terminology generated by recent initiatives in the study of biological diversity and global climate change.

This dictionary has been revised to include the definitions of over 7,000 terms from all aspects of ecology and environmental fields, including climate, pollution, waste disposal and energy conservation.

The Blackwell Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology provides concise, non-technical definitions of over 2000 ecological terms, covering the complete spectrum of pure and applied ecological research. The definitions are drawn from the Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, and are fully cross-referenced. This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of ecological terms available. It should be invaluable to students and researchers alike. Over 2000 terms defined The work avoids technical jargon, is fully cross-referenced and includes common abbreviations.

This work includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology. Article text is supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material. Fully indexed and cross referenced with detailed references for further study.

The Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level--including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria--in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. The volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. Featuring many cross-references, suggestions for further reading, illustrations, an appendix of the world's worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more, this is an essential reference for anyone who needs up-to-date information on this important topic.

This work includes literature bearing on both the biological study of diversity itself, and the socio-natural science of diversity conservation. Two bibliographies are included in this work. Bibliography I lists the approximately 1200 monographs and 4500 shorter articles featured here, whereas Bibliography II provides a selective accounting of "special issues" of serial publications whose main theme is biodiversity studies-related. Entries are enhanced, as applicable, with bibliometric ratings, key words, and brief annotations. Coverage centers on the period 1986 to 1998, but extends to many works published prior to that date that remain relevant to trends occurring during it. There are three indexes, covering general, geographical, and organismal subjects, respectively, and generating in sum over 20,000 referrals to the items in the bibliography. The work also surveys closely related topics from such allied fields.