Types of Governments
Each of the following types of government has its own set of information resources.
Access to Government Information
The Federal Depository Library Program originated in the early 1800s to distribute information collected and published by the U.S. government. Colgate University has been a depository of U.S. documents since February 7, 1902. We have a particularly strong collection of documents from the United States Congress, the Bureau of the Census, and from the Interior (including the National Park Service and U.S. Geological Survey) and State Departments. Our collection contains documents in paper, on microfiche, CD, DVD, and online. Documents of interest in our collection include the decennial censuses (dating from 1790), hearings and reports from congressional committees, the Congressional Record, the Serial Set, laws, and the opinions of the Supreme Court.
Basic Collection QuickStart
- Assistance ListingsA successor to CFDA.gov, provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. GovernmentPresents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics.
- Budget of the United States GovernmentContains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) FDLP Web ArchiveSince many agencies are putting their materials only on their websites and not publishing them through the GPO, they have traditionally not been collected by the FDLP. This project, where regular snapshots of federal websites are made, is meant to make sure that these government information sources are available, even when the websites change.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR)Coverage: 1996 (GovInfo)
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. - Compilation of Presidential DocumentsWeekly 1992-2008; daily 2009-present
- Congress.govCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
- Congressional Record (daily)The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session.
- The Constitution of the U.S.A.: Analysis and InterpretationAlso known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
- Data.Census.Govdata.census.gov AKA "Explore Census Data" is the new portal to all census data, including American Factfinder/American Community Survey and other upcoming releases.
- Economic IndicatorsPublished monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
- Economic Report of the President to the CongressAn annual report from the President, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
- Federal RegisterCoverage: 1994-Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
- GovInfo.govIncludes the full text of a number of executive branch agencies, such as the Economic Report of the President, GAO reports, and Comptroller General decisions.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
- Official Congressional DirectoryIncludes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesOfficial publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
- Social Security HandbookResource for the most common questions about Social Security.
- United States CodeThe codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles.
- United States Government ManualThe official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
- United States ReportsContains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
- United States Statutes at LargeContains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
- USA.govUSA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.